Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (21)   8.7

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (21 Total Reviews)

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

September 20, 2014
1999 SUBARU IMPREZA 2.2L/L
Des Moines, WA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great tires!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

12 of 18 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

December 31, 2013
1990 MAZDA 626 BASE/GT
TUCSON, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great tire

Tire Cons

NA

These tires are awesome
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

March 30, 2014
2002 HONDA CIVIC DX/LX/HX
LAKEWOOD, WA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good traction-tread

Tire Cons

had snow tires on for a few months so it has not been that long since I purchased them

Outstanding value and service provided.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

68 of 103 people found the following review helpful

  5.8

February 24, 2013
2003 HONDA CIVIC HYBRID
LAKEWOOD, WA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6400
Ride Comfort   6.0
Cornering/Steering   5.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   5.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

good wet traction

Tire Cons

very poor fuel economy (see below) not quiet

These appear to be a very poor choice for this hybrid. The car reliably turned in 47-53 mpg over 150k+ miles, and immediately dropped by 6-10 mpg in all types of driving and has never recovered. It now never tops 43 mpg. I am extremely disappointed. The tires are otherwise absolutely average compared to the OEM Bridgestones except possibly for wet traction. If anything, they seem less responsive in dry handling. The "Green X" rating certainly doesn't hold for my car.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

September 07, 2014
1986 BMW 325I/IS/E E30
Seattle, WA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Feels solid and safe on wet or dry roads, great handling.

Tire Cons

Too good for this old car!

I am very happy with my Michelin Defenders. They hold the road in both wet and dry conditions, and deliver solid handling. Honestly, I wasn't planning to get tires this good for a 30-year-old car, but Northgate Discount Tire made me an offer I couldn't refuse (no guns or horse's heads in my bed, just a great deal)and I'm glad I traded up. I have benefited from your extra warranty package in the past, so I went for that, too, and I recommend it to anyone else.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

7 of 12 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

January 27, 2014
2001 HONDA CIVIC DX/LX/HX
PALM DESERT, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 300
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Felt much safer in car with good tires.

Tire Cons

None experienced

Have always wanted such tires and now is the time to experience same.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

September 16, 2014
2005 HONDA CIVIC HYBRID
San Gabriel, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 850
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

good price, good quality

Tire Cons

none

Overall, I like my tires and the service from America's Tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

9 of 16 people found the following review helpful

  8.5

April 02, 2014
2002 HONDA CIVIC DX/LX/HX
FLOWER MOUND, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 75000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   6.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great tire!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

48 of 89 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

May 17, 2013
2001 HONDA CIVIC DX/LX/HX
PICKERINGTON, OH
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I got these to replace a set that slid on the pavement in the rain. This set has been very good in quite a bit of wet weather, especially driving on the freeway during rush hour. They don't get quite the mileage as the last set but seem much safer.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

51 of 95 people found the following review helpful

  8.2

May 20, 2013
1999 SATURN SC1 COUPE
SAN DIEGO, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

My last tires lasted for 7 years (yes, I know that's too long;) hopefully these will be just as good.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire