possessed
Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (26)   8.7

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (26 Total Reviews)

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

November 25, 2014
2005 DODGE NEON SE
Eden Prairie, MN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Very happy!!

Tire Cons

none

I would purchase these again now that I have them on the car. We had some snow and ice on the roads and I travel early morning and had no problems!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

March 30, 2014
2002 HONDA CIVIC DX/LX/HX
LAKEWOOD, WA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good traction-tread

Tire Cons

had snow tires on for a few months so it has not been that long since I purchased them

Outstanding value and service provided.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

13 of 19 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

September 20, 2014
1999 SUBARU IMPREZA 2.2L/L
Des Moines, WA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great tires!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

12 of 18 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

September 07, 2014
1986 BMW 325I/IS/E E30
Seattle, WA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Feels solid and safe on wet or dry roads, great handling.

Tire Cons

Too good for this old car!

I am very happy with my Michelin Defenders. They hold the road in both wet and dry conditions, and deliver solid handling. Honestly, I wasn't planning to get tires this good for a 30-year-old car, but Northgate Discount Tire made me an offer I couldn't refuse (no guns or horse's heads in my bed, just a great deal)and I'm glad I traded up. I have benefited from your extra warranty package in the past, so I went for that, too, and I recommend it to anyone else.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

November 24, 2014
2005 HONDA CIVIC VALPCKG/DX
San Antonio, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 80
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise N/A
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Love my tires and the great customer service I receive every time I enter a discount tire shop. The guys are always so nice and polite with every customer that walks in the door. This is my 2nd time buying tires from discount tire and I love it :) great job gentlemen.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

11 of 17 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

January 27, 2014
2001 HONDA CIVIC DX/LX/HX
PALM DESERT, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 300
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Felt much safer in car with good tires.

Tire Cons

None experienced

Have always wanted such tires and now is the time to experience same.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

70 of 109 people found the following review helpful

  5.8

February 24, 2013
2003 HONDA CIVIC HYBRID
LAKEWOOD, WA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6400
Ride Comfort   6.0
Cornering/Steering   5.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   5.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

good wet traction

Tire Cons

very poor fuel economy (see below) not quiet

These appear to be a very poor choice for this hybrid. The car reliably turned in 47-53 mpg over 150k+ miles, and immediately dropped by 6-10 mpg in all types of driving and has never recovered. It now never tops 43 mpg. I am extremely disappointed. The tires are otherwise absolutely average compared to the OEM Bridgestones except possibly for wet traction. If anything, they seem less responsive in dry handling. The "Green X" rating certainly doesn't hold for my car.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

8 of 13 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

September 14, 2014
2001 HONDA CIVIC DX/LX/HX
Mesa, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

they are tires

Tire Cons

Found out that these tires have a poor lifetime in Arizona and that the tires degrade in heat (but not cold).

They are tires. I am pretty happy with them. I plan to sell my car before I need to replace them again.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

15 of 25 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

December 31, 2013
1990 MAZDA 626 BASE/GT
TUCSON, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great tire

Tire Cons

NA

These tires are awesome
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

16 of 29 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

November 24, 2013
1995 SUBARU LEGACY BSE/L/BRTN
WHEAT RIDGE, CO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

They are Michelins, and at a great price from Discount Tire. Need I say more.

Tire Cons

None.

See above. The tires are Michelins, at a great price and from Discount Tires. Nothing more to say.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire