Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (91)   9.3

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (91 Total Reviews)

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

September 22, 2014
1997 VW JETTA III GL/GLS/GT
Reidsville, NC
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great tires, great tread

Tire Cons

None Provided

The best tire I have ever used. I had a set of these on a VW beetle in 1971 and have been impressed with them ever since.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

September 13, 2014
2000 HONDA CIVIC EX
Simi Valley, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1386
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

No problems

Tire Cons

None

Tires are working out fine. I need to ask for a free air check, but they don't seem to be losing air like my previous tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

February 16, 2013
1997 SATURN SC1 COUPE
WASHINGTON, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 9000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Outstanding traction in all conditions – even snow. Ridiculous tread life warranty. Will probably outlast the car.

Tire Cons

They’re costly, but you get what you pay for

I’ve never owned a better set of tires in my life. These are your all around best tire if you don’t want to swap between a summer/winter tire set.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

July 23, 2014
2010 NISSAN VERSA 1.6
San Jose, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Greatest customer service and the nicest employees Ever! I referr tons of people to you guys!

Tire Cons

None

Written above!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

July 27, 2014
1998 HONDA CIVIC EX
Duluth, MN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 1 year 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

quiet, good traction

Tire Cons

none

Preforms well in all conditions. I have no complaints. This is my forth set of tires since 1999. The quality of a tire makes a huge difference with a little vehicle (civic). My last set of tires where the Michelin Hydro edge that are discontinued and I put about 100,000 miles on them. Weather cracking was the reason for replacement not the tread. So I decided to stay with Michelin and I'm happy with my decision.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

105 of 137 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

May 09, 2013
1998 HONDA CIVIC LX
ALBUQUERQUE, NM
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quite,

Tire Cons

None Provided

Much quieter than whatever I had before. They stop quickly and straight, no sliding, on dry pavement. Great road grip for mountain driving. I have these tires on a Honda Civic, and the car loves them and so do I.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

April 06, 2014
2009 KIA RIO LX
NASHVILLE, TN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

These are great tiires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

November 11, 2013
2003 FORD FOCUS LX
LYONS, CO
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 30000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

All good. Good steering, braking, and rain performance. One question you did not ask was about rolling resistance, which is good. I get 10% -15% better gas mileage with these. Many accolades for your guy Nik at the Longmont Colorado location. He has worked hard to make all good for us. - jwrit@q.com
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

May 07, 2014
2003 KIA SPECTRA BASE/LS
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 20000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Extremely long lasting tires

Tire Cons

Expensive

Excellent tires. Excellent quality which is why I prefer Michelin products. The sidewalls will wear out before the tread.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

13 of 18 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

February 23, 2013
1997 SATURN SL/SL1/SW1 SDN/WGN
DAYTON, OH
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 20000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   7.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

GREAT TIRES

Tire Cons

HARD COMPOUND.SNOW TRACTION COULD BE BETTER

GREAT TIRES WOULD BUY THEM AGAIN.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire