Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (59)   9.1

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (59 Total Reviews)

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

October 17, 2013
2008 TOYOTA PRIUS BASE
SAINT PAUL, MN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Ride, lower noise than previous tire, comfort, crisper handling.

Tire Cons

Can't comment on snow and ice yet. I am hopeful, but don't know.

I was concerned about possible drop in mileage with this tire, but that has not been the case. In the summer weather, I have averaged about 50 mpg per tank going mostly 60 mph with some city driving. On occassion I averaged 53 mpg per tank.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

  9.4

February 06, 2014
1997 HONDA ACCORD LX
HAUBSTADT, IN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   7.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good price. Smooth riding tire. Low noise on interstate.

Tire Cons

None yet

Greatly improved to a smooth ride. Cornering was very noticeable. Very quiet on the insterstate also. Gas mileage seemed about the same all around but long trips travelling at 80 mph did increase. There is no vibrations in the cabin or steering wheel at high speeds either. Made the accord with 197,000 on it feel new again. It corners so well it feels like a BMW.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

October 08, 2014
2008 TOYOTA COROLLA CE
Sun City, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 150
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Noticed a different ride with the new tires. Much better. Since I do a lot of freeway driving, I feel safer with these tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

August 16, 2014
2008 TOYOTA PRIUS BASE
Aloha, OR
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good Tire, good service, quick installation

Tire Cons

Nothing that I know of.

The tires are great.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful

  7.5

April 16, 2014
2007 NISSAN VERSA ALL
LAKE ANN, MI
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   7.0
Wet Traction   7.0
Winter Traction   7.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

I got the year around tires for snow and non snow. I wish they had a little bit better tread.

Over all pretty good.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

217 of 286 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

June 12, 2013
2006 TOYOTA PRIUS BASE
SUGAR GROVE, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Not as quiet as previous Michelins
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful

  8.0

November 14, 2013
2009 NISSAN VERSA 1.8 S
DESERT HOT SPRINGS, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 8 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1500
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good handeling

Tire Cons

road noise

overall good
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

14 of 21 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

November 22, 2013
2006 TOYOTA PRIUS BASE
BLAINE, WA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

Wears like steel

Tire Cons

Looking for a quiet tire and was told this one was very quiet

Looking for a quiet tire and was told this one was very quiet
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

September 04, 2014
2006 TOYOTA PRIUS BASE
San Jacinto, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great all around tire

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great all around rite. Keeps traction very well in wet conditions and stops quickly.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

36 of 57 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

May 21, 2013
2005 TOYOTA COROLLA CE
DENVER, CO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10400
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Traction in winter driving

Tire Cons

None

My Corolla has been terrible in the snow since I bought it in 2007. I just figured that it wasn't good in the snow as I had tried a couple different tires on it with no real difference in the snow. I paid a little more for these tires and I am glad I did. My car is now fantastic in the snow. I didn't get stuck once this winter and I never had a traction problem. I am glad I chose Michelin Defenders for my car!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire