Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (51)   9.1

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (51 Total Reviews)

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

October 17, 2013
2008 TOYOTA PRIUS BASE
SAINT PAUL, MN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Ride, lower noise than previous tire, comfort, crisper handling.

Tire Cons

Can't comment on snow and ice yet. I am hopeful, but don't know.

I was concerned about possible drop in mileage with this tire, but that has not been the case. In the summer weather, I have averaged about 50 mpg per tank going mostly 60 mph with some city driving. On occassion I averaged 53 mpg per tank.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

August 10, 2014
2006 TOYOTA PRIUS BASE
Pleasant Hill, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   5.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   5.0
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

Quiet ride and seemingly great handling.

Tire Cons

Not as gas efficient as reported in other reviews nor as suggested by sales technician.

Had the tires on for three weeks. Excellent ride, seemingly great handling. Limited driving in wet and icy conditions, so won't know how well the tire does. Returned them because the tire failed to deliver the gas economy of the Michelin Energy Savers, which is the tire we had prior to switching to the Defenders. The Defenders failed to get the 45-49 miles per gallon economy. The Defenders could not get more than 36 miles per gallon despite trying different inflation rates (the Energy Savers best MPG was when we had all tires @ 40PSI). My wife has a set commute each day/ 5 days a week. She has no morning commute traffic but has a mild afternoon rush hour commute home @ 3pm (in the Bay Area). If you have a Prius and you would much prefer a quieter ride (@ 34MPG), get the Defenders.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

206 of 273 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

June 12, 2013
2006 TOYOTA PRIUS BASE
SUGAR GROVE, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Not as quiet as previous Michelins
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

  7.5

April 16, 2014
2007 NISSAN VERSA ALL
LAKE ANN, MI
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   7.0
Wet Traction   7.0
Winter Traction   7.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

I got the year around tires for snow and non snow. I wish they had a little bit better tread.

Over all pretty good.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful

  8.0

November 14, 2013
2009 NISSAN VERSA 1.8 S
DESERT HOT SPRINGS, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 8 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1500
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good handeling

Tire Cons

road noise

overall good
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

13 of 20 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

November 22, 2013
2006 TOYOTA PRIUS BASE
BLAINE, WA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

Wears like steel

Tire Cons

Looking for a quiet tire and was told this one was very quiet

Looking for a quiet tire and was told this one was very quiet
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

35 of 56 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

May 21, 2013
2005 TOYOTA COROLLA CE
DENVER, CO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10400
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Traction in winter driving

Tire Cons

None

My Corolla has been terrible in the snow since I bought it in 2007. I just figured that it wasn't good in the snow as I had tried a couple different tires on it with no real difference in the snow. I paid a little more for these tires and I am glad I did. My car is now fantastic in the snow. I didn't get stuck once this winter and I never had a traction problem. I am glad I chose Michelin Defenders for my car!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

99 of 159 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

November 07, 2012
2007 TOYOTA PRIUS BASE
CLERMONT, FL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 80000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   7.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Twice the life over economy tires. Hybrid + Defender road noise = near silence.

Tire Cons

Little more in price. While I did see fuel savings real world was less then advertised.

I drive 30,000+ miles a year and on my second Prius. My first car I went through four sets of tires (factory + 3 economy) and on my current car I will get away with 3 sets (factory + Defenders). Same year and model Prius. The point of purchase on these tires are a few hundred more then economy sets but at the end of the day the cost of the economy tires (three sets at $400 each) equaled the price of the Defenders (two sets at $600 each) ball parking. The difference is that I saved a real world $200 a set on the Defenders in fuel efficiency. I track everything on my hybrids down to a per mile cost of operation. Follow the suggested service requirements and these tires will save you money over the life of your car.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

22 of 36 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

August 05, 2013
2005 TOYOTA COROLLA CE
STOCKTON, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Quiet, smooth.

Tire Cons

None so far.

I've driven on these tires for six months and have been very happy with the smooth, quiet ride. The Michelin Defender replaced the Goodyear Assurance, which rode rough and made too much noise to carry a conversation in the car.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

37 of 61 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

February 22, 2013
2005 TOYOTA PRIUS BASE
FORT COLLINS, CO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   6.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

If I keep the tire pressure at the 35psi your shop put in the tires at rotation time, our mpg went down 7 to 8 mpg.

I like the tires, but I will go back to the 44psi in the tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire