Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (8)   9.6

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (8 Total Reviews)

107 of 165 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

September 16, 2012
2007 TOYOTA YARIS SDN/LFTBCK
FRESNO, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 3 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4836
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Smooth, quiet, grippy

Tire Cons

none so far

I drive a 2007 Toyota Yaris hatchback, and want to have a quiet ride. I spent much time and effort adding sound proofing materials to this car, but could not reduce the road noise to an acceptable level. After several tire replacements, over a period of time, including Michelin MXV4s, and Toyo Versados, I tried the new Michelin Defender. I was amazed at the quiet ride. I was afraid I might have to give up handling, or ride quality, but that's not the case. Handling and ride quality are both excellent. I haven't tried these tires on wet roads yet, but I don't expect to be disappointed. These tires are great on a small car.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

18 of 30 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

May 11, 2014
2004 DODGE NEON SXT
PENDLETON, IN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great tire, will huy again.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

24 of 47 people found the following review helpful

  8.5

December 08, 2013
2009 TOYOTA YARIS LIFTBACK S
SIMI VALLEY, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 15000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   7.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Dependable tire

Tire Cons

None Provided

These tires are on our Toyota Yaris, and work just fine and are perfect for the car.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

54 of 106 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

June 20, 2013
2008 TOYOTA YARIS LIFTBACK
ELGIN, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I like the tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

69 of 144 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

September 17, 2012
2006 SCION XA HATCHBACK
CARY, NC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3250
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Unbelievable! The best tires I ever owned.

Tire Cons

NONE!

Prepare for new kind of noises. No, not the tire noise: engine noise, wind noise, street/highway noise, anything what your last tires masked with THEIR noise. "Defender" is ridiculously quiet an comfortable. Great traction and handling/cornering, plus superior wet traction. Barely any wear seen; I feel they will outlast my "Y"-brand I was loyal to for many years. Oh, boy: even my stereo sounds better, since I don't have to muff the tire noise. Thanks, Michelin and Discount Tire!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

30 of 64 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

September 22, 2013
2009 TOYOTA YARIS LIFTBACK
HOUSTON, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

everything

Tire Cons

none

I have bought nothing but Michelin tires since 1979 - that first set sold me on them. Wouldn't buy any other brand of tires!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

54 of 117 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

December 13, 2012
2005 DODGE NEON SXT
GATESVILLE, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Excellent overall tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

54 of 130 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

June 11, 2013
2006 SCION XB MICRO VAN
SAINT PAUL, MN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

blank

Tire Cons

blank

blank
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire

Barton