Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button
settle

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (171)   9.1

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (171 Total Reviews)

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

September 29, 2013
2001 HONDA ACCORD LX/EX
MADISON, WI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

These tires are well worth the cost even for an older car with low mileage. The tires are a superior prouduct and your service fast and excellent.

Tire Cons

None t o date/ I am exceedingly happy!

I was skeptical about whether higher end tires make a huge difference! They do and they are well worth the differential. I feel safer and we are with these tires. I still look at them and say smart move Sandy.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

March 03, 2013
2010 HYUNDAI ELANTRA BLUE
LEAGUE CITY, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Smooth ride a tire that is dependable.

Tire Cons

Small amount of hydroplane.

I had poor installation and had to return to discount tires because tire went Flat on the second day after I bought them, had to go to discount tires, a different store to have inflation checked because tire low air monitor went off for the fourth time, service tech tightened up value and checked for leaks.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

December 24, 2013
2010 TOYOTA COROLLA LE
KISSIMMEE, FL
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 20000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   7.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

worth the money. second time buying
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

February 22, 2014
2002 HONDA ACCORD LX/EX/SE
TUCUMCARI, NM
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 20000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

There very good not wearing

Tire Cons

Seem loud

I like them very happy
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

  7.0

April 03, 2014
2011 TOYOTA PRIUS ALL
MAPLE RAPIDS, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   3.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

Great expected life of tire, good driving characteristics, good place to purchase tires

Tire Cons

Mileage horrible on Prius. Get 6 mpg less than original equipment tires.

Purchased Prius for mileage and have averaged 49-50 mpg for past two years. Purchased Defenders from Discount which dropped my mpg by at least 6 mpg. Another Discount Tire store recommended the Road Hugger GT Eco for the Prius to maintain gas mileage. Toyota recommends the Yokahama Avid tires for the Prius. Will probably give the Road Hugger a try next. Discount tires has great return policy.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

January 28, 2014
2006 TOYOTA COROLLA S/LE
LAREDO, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None

Excellent Tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

December 26, 2013
2003 VW JETTA IV TDI
LOS ALAMOS, NM
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Low road noise and good traction in corners

Tire Cons

None

I have run Michelins on my Jetta TDI for 10 years now and have been extremely happy with the way they handle. These new Defenders are giving me get service in my daily drive to work as well as a cross country trip.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

December 15, 2013
2011 TOYOTA COROLLA BASE
LA PORTE, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 40000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Best tires I had !
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

December 15, 2013
2002 HONDA ACCORD LX/EX/SE
GROVE CITY, OH
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6991
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

none

Tire Cons

none

na
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

November 09, 2013
2011 TOYOTA PRIUS ALL
DUNCANVILLE, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 11000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet comfortable ride

Tire Cons

Getting 3-5 mpg less than OEM

The trade off of comfortable ride versus better gas mileage is enough to make this tire a winner even with less mpg on my car. What can I say, I went from 56mpg to 52mpg for my average.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as