Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (244)   9.1

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (244 Total Reviews)

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

October 28, 2014
2012 TOYOTA PRIUS HYBRID
Louisville, KY
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet & smooth...no kidding; rides like a Lexus now, slow tread wear, appearance & handling

Tire Cons

Loss a few MPGs over OEM Horrible Goodyears due to weight however the quiet smooth ride is worth it..

Michelin is a no brainer decision, I don't even consider other tire brands at this point; why would I? If you get over the price and consider the importance of great tires you know what to do. The Prius was nice before but now equipped with the Defenders the experience exceeds expectations. Pairing michelins with Toyota products has always worked well for me. No winter driving conditions yet but I don't worry with my realistic expectations.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  5.0

September 27, 2014
2007 VW RABBIT 2/4 DOOR
Fort Worth, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   5.0
Cornering/Steering   5.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life   5.0
Dry Traction   5.0
Wet Traction   5.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

Price was high especially For discount tire

The salesperson Was helpful however We had to after the sale by calling back in about the so called $75 Visa card which We did not get.it was as though once the sale was made we did not matter On to the next sale I was disappointed in the response when I called Back in about the Visa card After spending almost $900 for tires I thought we would be treated better When I had a question About the Visa card Discount should have Taken care of the rebate You put the burden on the customer
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

December 13, 2013
2009 HYUNDAI ELANTRA GLS
GLENDALE, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

very nice riding tires

Tire Cons

we have to put air in them very often

It is a very good tire and it is worrisome about the tires losing pressure often and driving on them
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

74 of 94 people found the following review helpful

  8.0

November 09, 2012
2010 TOYOTA PRIUS ALL
ROWLETT, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Low noise and good handling

Tire Cons

Fuel economy of Prius dropped 7 MPG on average

I am pleased with the handling and noise performance of the tire but disappointed in the miles per gallon. I was averaging over 52 MPG in my Prius with the factory tires. On my commute to work (33 miles mostly highway) I almost always got 50 MPG and occasionally 55. In the six weeks since I got the Michelin Defenders I rarely get over 50 MPG and my commute MPG has dropped below 45. I have not changed my driving style, if anything I've tried harder to get more MPG. And these are 90,000 mile tires so I am stuck with them for a while.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

44 of 56 people found the following review helpful

  8.5

February 11, 2013
2006 MAZDA 3 I 4-DOOR
ORLANDO, FL
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1950
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I have been very happy with these tires!! My gas mileage actually increased by almost 6 miles per gallon over my old ones! The ride is quiet, smooth and was very noticeable when I first got them. I think that I have actually sold a few sets to friends due to my talking so positive about them! Very strange feeling to be so happy over tires - the first time in many many years.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful

  6.3

February 28, 2014
2011 KIA FORTE SEDAN LX
PRIOR LAKE, MN
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 20000
Ride Comfort   3.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   3.0
Winter Traction   1.0
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Horrible in Winter driving. Cannot get in and out of driveway, ice bad
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

58 of 76 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

October 18, 2012
2011 TOYOTA PRIUS ALL
COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 1200
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Excellent performance with new tread as expected.

Tire Cons

Just as noisy as OEMs

These were replacement tires for a Prius. Four criteria were in play. (1) Wear. So far so good but not enough mileage to give a good assessment. (2)Traction. It is fair to say that the traction on wet and very wet roads is excellent. Have not yet tested on snow or ice. Definite improvement as compared to OEM tires. (3) Miles/gallon. one mile/gallon less than OEM tires. Mileage on original tires was 50-51/gal. Now 49-50/gal. Not sure this is significant. (4) Noise. The noise from tires is the same as the OEM tires. I was looking for improvement, but do not see any difference. Discount Tire no longer gives military discounts, but I still recommend the company and will continue to do business with them as long as their prices are competitive. I also think it's fair to add that they will match prices with other businesses.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

16 of 21 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

February 02, 2013
2006 HONDA CIVIC HYBRID/GX
MECHANICSBURG, OH
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

drastically reduced the loud noise that was on my factory tires.

Tire Cons

can't think of any

I put these on due to the positive reviews I read. My main concern was noise, noise, noise! I had such loud tires with my factory installed Civic tires. These Defenders had a nice rebate that had just ended too. The worker went ahead and gave me the price as though I had used a rebate. I was happy with the workers, happy with the work, and happy with my new tires!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

19 of 25 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

August 08, 2013
2003 SATURN L200 SEDAN
MINNEAPOLIS, MN
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Excellent traction.

Tire Cons

None.

A little more money than other tires, but more than compensated for by excellent wet and snowy traction.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

18 of 24 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

March 27, 2014
2010 TOYOTA COROLLA LE
FLINT, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Performs well in all driving situations

Tire Cons

None

Great upgrade from the factory installed tires on my Toyota Corolla. A great buy. Very pleased with the performance.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Discount Tire CarCareONE Credit Card
©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as