Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (236)   9.1

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (236 Total Reviews)

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

December 13, 2013
2009 HYUNDAI ELANTRA GLS
GLENDALE, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

very nice riding tires

Tire Cons

we have to put air in them very often

It is a very good tire and it is worrisome about the tires losing pressure often and driving on them
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

October 02, 2014
2003 TOYOTA COROLLA S/LE
Albuquerque, NM
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1111
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   6.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

BEST TIRES EVER
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  5.0

September 27, 2014
2007 VW RABBIT 2/4 DOOR
Fort Worth, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   5.0
Cornering/Steering   5.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life   5.0
Dry Traction   5.0
Wet Traction   5.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

Price was high especially For discount tire

The salesperson Was helpful however We had to after the sale by calling back in about the so called $75 Visa card which We did not get.it was as though once the sale was made we did not matter On to the next sale I was disappointed in the response when I called Back in about the Visa card After spending almost $900 for tires I thought we would be treated better When I had a question About the Visa card Discount should have Taken care of the rebate You put the burden on the customer
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

74 of 92 people found the following review helpful

  8.0

November 09, 2012
2010 TOYOTA PRIUS ALL
ROWLETT, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Low noise and good handling

Tire Cons

Fuel economy of Prius dropped 7 MPG on average

I am pleased with the handling and noise performance of the tire but disappointed in the miles per gallon. I was averaging over 52 MPG in my Prius with the factory tires. On my commute to work (33 miles mostly highway) I almost always got 50 MPG and occasionally 55. In the six weeks since I got the Michelin Defenders I rarely get over 50 MPG and my commute MPG has dropped below 45. I have not changed my driving style, if anything I've tried harder to get more MPG. And these are 90,000 mile tires so I am stuck with them for a while.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

40 of 51 people found the following review helpful

  8.5

February 11, 2013
2006 MAZDA 3 I 4-DOOR
ORLANDO, FL
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1950
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I have been very happy with these tires!! My gas mileage actually increased by almost 6 miles per gallon over my old ones! The ride is quiet, smooth and was very noticeable when I first got them. I think that I have actually sold a few sets to friends due to my talking so positive about them! Very strange feeling to be so happy over tires - the first time in many many years.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

March 03, 2013
2010 HYUNDAI ELANTRA BLUE
LEAGUE CITY, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Smooth ride a tire that is dependable.

Tire Cons

Small amount of hydroplane.

I had poor installation and had to return to discount tires because tire went Flat on the second day after I bought them, had to go to discount tires, a different store to have inflation checked because tire low air monitor went off for the fourth time, service tech tightened up value and checked for leaks.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

57 of 75 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

October 18, 2012
2011 TOYOTA PRIUS ALL
COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 1200
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Excellent performance with new tread as expected.

Tire Cons

Just as noisy as OEMs

These were replacement tires for a Prius. Four criteria were in play. (1) Wear. So far so good but not enough mileage to give a good assessment. (2)Traction. It is fair to say that the traction on wet and very wet roads is excellent. Have not yet tested on snow or ice. Definite improvement as compared to OEM tires. (3) Miles/gallon. one mile/gallon less than OEM tires. Mileage on original tires was 50-51/gal. Now 49-50/gal. Not sure this is significant. (4) Noise. The noise from tires is the same as the OEM tires. I was looking for improvement, but do not see any difference. Discount Tire no longer gives military discounts, but I still recommend the company and will continue to do business with them as long as their prices are competitive. I also think it's fair to add that they will match prices with other businesses.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

18 of 24 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

March 27, 2014
2010 TOYOTA COROLLA LE
FLINT, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Performs well in all driving situations

Tire Cons

None

Great upgrade from the factory installed tires on my Toyota Corolla. A great buy. Very pleased with the performance.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

18 of 24 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

August 08, 2013
2003 SATURN L200 SEDAN
MINNEAPOLIS, MN
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Excellent traction.

Tire Cons

None.

A little more money than other tires, but more than compensated for by excellent wet and snowy traction.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

15 of 20 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

February 02, 2013
2006 HONDA CIVIC HYBRID/GX
MECHANICSBURG, OH
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

drastically reduced the loud noise that was on my factory tires.

Tire Cons

can't think of any

I put these on due to the positive reviews I read. My main concern was noise, noise, noise! I had such loud tires with my factory installed Civic tires. These Defenders had a nice rebate that had just ended too. The worker went ahead and gave me the price as though I had used a rebate. I was happy with the workers, happy with the work, and happy with my new tires!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire