Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (191)   9.1

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (191 Total Reviews)

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

September 29, 2013
2001 HONDA ACCORD LX/EX
MADISON, WI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

These tires are well worth the cost even for an older car with low mileage. The tires are a superior prouduct and your service fast and excellent.

Tire Cons

None t o date/ I am exceedingly happy!

I was skeptical about whether higher end tires make a huge difference! They do and they are well worth the differential. I feel safer and we are with these tires. I still look at them and say smart move Sandy.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

March 27, 2014
2010 TOYOTA COROLLA LE
FLINT, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Performs well in all driving situations

Tire Cons

None

Great upgrade from the factory installed tires on my Toyota Corolla. A great buy. Very pleased with the performance.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

December 24, 2013
2010 TOYOTA COROLLA LE
KISSIMMEE, FL
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 20000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   7.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

worth the money. second time buying
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

June 04, 2014
2011 TOYOTA PRIUS ALL
TYLER, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 2 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1600
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

all around a good tire

Tire Cons

not a LRR tire; less MPG

I own a 2011 Toyota Prius; with the Defender tires, I took about a 4 MPG hit, over my OEM tires ( Yokohama ). Discount Tire took them back; with NO extra cost to me. I replaced them with Michelin Energy Saver A/S; which I wanted in the first place (out of stock ). My MPG is back up to about 52+ MPG. I'm happy with my Energy Saver A/S, and with Discount Tire.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

June 21, 2014
2011 TOYOTA PRIUS ALL
Mesa, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Square corners really make a difference in cornering.

Tire Cons

None

These tires make me feel a lot safer on the road and work really well in snow and ice.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

April 28, 2013
2008 TOYOTA COROLLA LE
ANN ARBOR, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great tires. Really hug the road.

Tire Cons

None Provided

Expensive but worth it. I plan on keeping my car for quite a while and the tires should last also.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

October 07, 2013
1999 VW JETTA IV GLX
PHOENIX, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 60000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

great service and company honors the warranty

Tire Cons

None Provided

I appreciate the quick service and warranty.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  8.7

January 14, 2014
2012 HONDA CIVIC SEDAN LX
EL PASO, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 15000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Long lasting

Tire Cons

None

Excellent tire
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

August 08, 2013
2003 SATURN L200 SEDAN
MINNEAPOLIS, MN
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Excellent traction.

Tire Cons

None.

A little more money than other tires, but more than compensated for by excellent wet and snowy traction.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

January 21, 2014
2010 TOYOTA PRIUS ALL
PORTAGE, IN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 9000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great winter traction. Quiet ride. Corners well.

Tire Cons

Small drop in mpgs, between 2 and 3.

Put these on a 2010 Prius as a year round tire. You take a small hit on gas mileage, but the trade off is great traction in the majority of weather. If you hit ice, just like almost any other tire, it can be problematic. So far went through one winter vortex and handled quite well within it, despite the lack of plows on the road.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as