Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (218)   9.1

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (218 Total Reviews)

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

August 02, 2014
2009 TOYOTA COROLLA BASE
Gallatin, TN
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Pleasantly surprised by the ride and smoothness of control

Tire Cons

???

Husband has bought these tires for his vehicle
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

March 03, 2013
2010 HYUNDAI ELANTRA BLUE
LEAGUE CITY, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Smooth ride a tire that is dependable.

Tire Cons

Small amount of hydroplane.

I had poor installation and had to return to discount tires because tire went Flat on the second day after I bought them, had to go to discount tires, a different store to have inflation checked because tire low air monitor went off for the fourth time, service tech tightened up value and checked for leaks.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

June 19, 2014
2010 TOYOTA PRIUS ALL
Kansas City, MO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Traction, Comfort, Ride Noise

Tire Cons

Yet to find a con

These tires perform great. They did wonderful in the snow throughout the winter. Excellent in the rain and incredibly quiet on dry pavement! Yes they will cost you more upfront but they are worth it. At 8500 miles they show absolutely no wear. Discount tire has been awesome to work with! Will definitely buy these tires on my next vehicle.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

August 08, 2013
2003 SATURN L200 SEDAN
MINNEAPOLIS, MN
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Excellent traction.

Tire Cons

None.

A little more money than other tires, but more than compensated for by excellent wet and snowy traction.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

71 of 88 people found the following review helpful

  8.0

November 09, 2012
2010 TOYOTA PRIUS ALL
ROWLETT, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Low noise and good handling

Tire Cons

Fuel economy of Prius dropped 7 MPG on average

I am pleased with the handling and noise performance of the tire but disappointed in the miles per gallon. I was averaging over 52 MPG in my Prius with the factory tires. On my commute to work (33 miles mostly highway) I almost always got 50 MPG and occasionally 55. In the six weeks since I got the Michelin Defenders I rarely get over 50 MPG and my commute MPG has dropped below 45. I have not changed my driving style, if anything I've tried harder to get more MPG. And these are 90,000 mile tires so I am stuck with them for a while.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

15 of 19 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

March 27, 2014
2010 TOYOTA COROLLA LE
FLINT, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Performs well in all driving situations

Tire Cons

None

Great upgrade from the factory installed tires on my Toyota Corolla. A great buy. Very pleased with the performance.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

14 of 18 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

February 02, 2013
2006 HONDA CIVIC HYBRID/GX
MECHANICSBURG, OH
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

drastically reduced the loud noise that was on my factory tires.

Tire Cons

can't think of any

I put these on due to the positive reviews I read. My main concern was noise, noise, noise! I had such loud tires with my factory installed Civic tires. These Defenders had a nice rebate that had just ended too. The worker went ahead and gave me the price as though I had used a rebate. I was happy with the workers, happy with the work, and happy with my new tires!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

August 04, 2013
2008 HYUNDAI ELANTRA GLS
AZUSA, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2400
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

The service was excellent. A very kind and knowledgeable person helped me to decide which was the best tire for me, for the kind of driving I do, and for our weather here in Azusa. It was a very efficient sale. New tires on my car in a very short amount of time. I have gone back one time to have the air pressure checked and I was about seven numbers below what my tires should be. The service gentleman told me to come much more often than every six months - which I will do. Very happy with America's tires - we have always been your customer.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

16 of 21 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

September 29, 2013
2001 HONDA ACCORD LX/EX
MADISON, WI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

These tires are well worth the cost even for an older car with low mileage. The tires are a superior prouduct and your service fast and excellent.

Tire Cons

None t o date/ I am exceedingly happy!

I was skeptical about whether higher end tires make a huge difference! They do and they are well worth the differential. I feel safer and we are with these tires. I still look at them and say smart move Sandy.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

September 25, 2013
2004 TOYOTA COROLLA S/LE
PEORIA, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

No issues, wearing evenly with very good traction and comfortable ride.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire