containing
Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (84)   9.0

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (84 Total Reviews)

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

May 07, 2013
2005 TOYOTA COROLLA CE
YPSILANTI, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

great gas mileage

Tire Cons

None Provided

balancing tires is critical. I took it to my own mechanic after buying tires. The balance done at Discount Tire was exactly 180 degrees opposite from what it should have been. Not sure if it's a training or equipment problem at Discount Tire, but it happens every time we get new tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

September 07, 2014
2011 FORD FOCUS SE SEDAN
Atlanta, GA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Michelin tires are great! I would have felt a lot more comfortable during the "Snowmageddon" this past January if I had put these tires on Connie (my Ford Focus) before then! They have held up very well even with a long daily commute and a road trip all the way to Boston and back, which included a couple side trips that entailed driving on back roads through the Appalachian Mountains. The tires grip well and make for a comfortable ride. Maybe not the quietest ride, but I'll take safe over quiet when it comes to tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

December 30, 2013
2011 FORD FIESTA SE
HESPERIA, CA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Mileage expectancy

Tire Cons

None

Excellent tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

  9.6

August 12, 2014
2009 FORD FOCUS SE SEDAN
Bothell, WA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

quiet

Tire Cons

cost

haven't had much experience with wet or snow conditions yet, but will see how they do in winter. Much quieter than the OEM Hankook set that came with the car.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

  9.6

June 08, 2014
2011 MINI COOPER HARDTOP
Spring Hill, TN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quite Smooth

Tire Cons

None

Had Michelin on the car before these tires but they were performance tires and only lasted 26000 miles. The defender tires are very nice just like the others but are warranted for 90,000 miles. Too early to tell if they will last the 90,000 miles but I am very pleased with the tires so far.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

  4.7

February 05, 2014
2007 FORD FOCUS 5-DOOR/WGN
TROUTDALE, OR
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 1 year 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 62000
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life   1.0
Dry Traction   4.0
Wet Traction   4.0
Winter Traction   3.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Good deep tread.

Tire Cons

Very noisy

Never again.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

22 of 32 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

October 15, 2013
2004 SUBARU IMPREZA 2.5 TS
DENVER, CO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

These are great tires. I'd recommend them to anyone. Nice and quiet, great traction, and offer a great ride!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

13 of 19 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

April 12, 2013

MINNEAPOLIS, MN
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

These tires have provided peace of mind and a comfortable ride this Minnesota winter. I would highly recommend the Michelin Defenders.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

46 of 68 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

June 19, 2013
2006 SCION XB MICRO VAN
AMERICAN FORK, UT
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7200
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great wear & handling.

Tire Cons

none

I purchased my Scion XB from a man from Arizona. I was hoping the radial tires he had on the car would get me through the winter. When the snow came, I realized the car needed better all-weather tires. I have had a long history with Michelin all-weather tires on three previous cars. It is now June and I am a Michelin-lover again. The Defender has been awesome!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

  5.4

September 04, 2014
2005 HONDA CIVIC EX
Grand Junction, CO
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 600
Ride Comfort   1.0
Cornering/Steering   3.0
Ride Noise   3.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

good tread, look nice

Tire Cons

gives vehicle a bouncy ride

I purchased this tired because it seemed like it would wear longer and handle better in winter driving over the mountains to Denver. It has not snowed yet, so I do not yet know how they will perform. However, they do not corner smoothly and they give the car a bouncy ride which is quite annoying.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire