Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (94)   9.0

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (94 Total Reviews)

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

  8.0

December 10, 2014
2012 NISSAN VERSA HATCHBACK S
Aurora, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 700
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   6.0
Winter Traction   6.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

You have the wrong type car for me. Mine's a Nissan Versa SEDAN. Nice and quiet tires. Not good rain traction at all though.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

November 21, 2014
2004 HONDA CIVIC EX
Canton, MI
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1600
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet Smooth Good handling Good traction

Tire Cons

None apparent

Wanted to wait until it snowed before reviewing. These tires are great in the snow on my car. The tires provide all the traction I need in dry and rainy wet conditions as well. I have total confidence in these tires -- the car just goes where I want it to. They are also super quiet and smooth-riding. Previous tires were also Michelin's that went 65,000+ miles.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

November 18, 2014
2011 FORD FOCUS SE SEDAN
Springfield, OR
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

very satisfied
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

21 of 28 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

December 30, 2013
2011 FORD FIESTA SE
HESPERIA, CA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Mileage expectancy

Tire Cons

None

Excellent tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

October 28, 2014
2009 FORD FOCUS SE SEDAN
Howell, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Excellent ride, very quiet

Tire Cons

None Provided

We have Michelin tires on both our car and mini van.Very happy with both
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

  9.6

August 12, 2014
2009 FORD FOCUS SE SEDAN
Bothell, WA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

quiet

Tire Cons

cost

haven't had much experience with wet or snow conditions yet, but will see how they do in winter. Much quieter than the OEM Hankook set that came with the car.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

48 of 70 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

June 19, 2013
2006 SCION XB MICRO VAN
AMERICAN FORK, UT
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7200
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great wear & handling.

Tire Cons

none

I purchased my Scion XB from a man from Arizona. I was hoping the radial tires he had on the car would get me through the winter. When the snow came, I realized the car needed better all-weather tires. I have had a long history with Michelin all-weather tires on three previous cars. It is now June and I am a Michelin-lover again. The Defender has been awesome!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

48 of 72 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

January 04, 2013
1996 HONDA ACCORD LX
MESA, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

i only buy and use michelin tires and with discount tires exceptional coustomer service i dint want for anything else
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

10 of 15 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

April 20, 2013
2005 NISSAN SENTRA 1.8/1.8S
SMYRNA, TN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great customer service, do recommended to others......
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

May 07, 2013
2005 TOYOTA COROLLA CE
YPSILANTI, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

great gas mileage

Tire Cons

None Provided

balancing tires is critical. I took it to my own mechanic after buying tires. The balance done at Discount Tire was exactly 180 degrees opposite from what it should have been. Not sure if it's a training or equipment problem at Discount Tire, but it happens every time we get new tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Discount Tire CarCareONE Credit Card
©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as