Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

golf
Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Kumho Ecsta AST

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (17)   8.4

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (17 Total Reviews)

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

  6.7

November 30, 2014
1987 VW SCIROCCO 16V
Aurora, CO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 3 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   5.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   4.0
Tread Life   6.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great wet and dry traction and cornering

Tire Cons

A little noisy, tread wears quickly.

I bought these tires for their wet and dry handling and traction, and for snow in case that were to happen before changing to snow tires, and for these, they are great. The trade-off is they wear more quickly and are a little noisy but it is well worth it. These are the second set I've had and I would buy them again.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

  8.2

October 29, 2014
1994 ACURA INTEGRA 195/55R15
Spartanburg, SC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 3 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 400
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   6.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I would definitely buy these tires again
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

9 of 16 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

October 19, 2014
1993 MAZDA MIATA MX-5
Lithonia, GA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4009
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great road huggers. City and mountain roads alike. Never lost traction. Will buy again!!

Tire Cons

None

Have been great tires for a good price.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

290 of 518 people found the following review helpful

  8.2

August 14, 2012
2000 MAZDA MIATA MX-5
MILWAUKEE, WI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 15000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   6.0
Winter Traction   3.0
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

Price, long lasting

Tire Cons

Poor in heavy rain and snow

If you're looking for an average tire for a low price that lasts long this is your tire. They are good on dry, and light rain. If you like to push your car in corners and feel surefooted even in rain and light snow these are not for you.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

299 of 536 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

May 22, 2012
2000 TOYOTA MR2 SPIDER
MAPLE VALLEY, WA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 year 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 12000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   7.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   3.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great traction. Good price point. Looks are supreme!

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great tires for the MR2 Spyder! Rains where I live a lot...never a worry with these tires. Spyder is not a snow vehicle, but I have been out in ice twice, traction was good. Wear is as expected...as I do like to hit the twisties :-)
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

94 of 169 people found the following review helpful

  9.4

March 15, 2014
2004 HONDA CIVIC LX
NAUGATUCK, CT
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   3.0
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

Nice quite comfortable ride good handling

Tire Cons

Dreaded going anywhere in the snow slide everywhere

Tires are ok for summer but horrible in the winter
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

259 of 471 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

December 31, 2012
1999 MAZDA MIATA MX-5
DENVER, CO
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Drove my miata to Oregon in July. My new tires made for a very smooth ride there and back to Lakewood, even through a microburst rainstorm in Wyoming. Thank you!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

261 of 492 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

August 28, 2012
1987 VW GOLF GTI 16V
ALBUQUERQUE, NM
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 year
Miles Driven on Tires: 1500
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

i bought a set of these tires for a 87 golf gti 2.0 doc motor. tire size is 15/205/50 and so far very happy with the tires. high speed corning alone with sharp windy roads are a blast with the asts under you. i have pushed the tires hard and they will let you know when the limits are reached. you will need to let the tires warm up on cooler days just because there slow to get to the right temp to hold the right line your driving in. what an under rated tire and i think for those guys who can drive and push tires, cant go wrong the komhos asts for under 400.00 bucks...
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

267 of 517 people found the following review helpful

  6.8

December 18, 2012
1997 VW GOLF III GTI VR6
MARYSVILLE, WA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 100
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   4.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   7.0
Wet Traction   7.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Quiet ride, look good, decent grip.

Tire Cons

Unbelievably soft sidewalls.

I only had these tires on for a few days. I had read many reviews, and they looked like a good, cheap option. I found sidewalls to be extremely soft. At 32 psi (same as my old Toyos) the tires felt underinflated and the whole car felt floaty. Turn in was slow and there was a huge delay before you felt the weight of the car shift. It was almost comical. I returned to Discount and they increased the pressure to 37 psi. This helped, but definitely didn't cure it completely. In the end I couldn't live with it and had them swapped out for a set of Yokohama S.drives. Grip on the Kumhos was actually decent and the ride was quiet and smooth, although at 37 psi you felt the bumps more (much more than the Yokos or my old Toyos). Obviously I can't comment on treadlife. Don't know if it was specific to this particular size, but I couldn't recommend these tires, especially to anyone who enjoys any kind of spirited driving. Spend a little more on something else.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

90 of 175 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

April 27, 2014
1997 MAZDA MIATA MX-5
AUSTIN, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 400
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Affordable,good traction

Tire Cons

None Provided

I have had this brand on a mustang and miata,both provide wet and dry traction I can count on,great price!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Discount Tire CarCareONE Credit Card
©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as