Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Continental ExtremeContact DWS

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (17)   9.2

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (17 Total Reviews)

40 of 69 people found the following review helpful

  8.4

April 08, 2014
2011 FORD FIESTA SEL/SES
NOTTINGHAM, PA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I purchased these tires because they were one of the few manufactures that made the size that I needed. I chose Continental because they came standard on my BMW. So far I am not disappointed.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

82 of 151 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

March 05, 2014
2003 MAZDA PROTEGE 5 WAGON
BOISE, ID
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Good choice of tire. They performed very well in all conditions. Considering trying Continentals on my motorcycle.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

54 of 101 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

March 29, 2014
2002 MAZDA PROTEGE 5 WAGON
HOUSTON, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

These tires are comfortable and very quiet.

Tire Cons

None

I have bought kumos and every other high performance tore except Michelins and my car ate through them. Did lots of research and this was a good decision
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

167 of 313 people found the following review helpful

  8.6

January 11, 2012
2009 HONDA FIT SPORT
DENTON, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quieter ride Great handling Comfortable ride

Tire Cons

none so far

These tires are far superior to the Dunlops that came on the car. The P185s that came on the car were also kind of squirrely on the road. I went with a 195 on the Continentals. The Continentals handle so much better. Much less road noise and a more comfortable ride.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

136 of 259 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

February 21, 2013
2002 MAZDA PROTEGE 5 WAGON
SEATTLE, WA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 60000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

1. Superior traction in the wet. 2. Better performance and cost less than Michelin MXV4s.

Tire Cons

None

Rain: Tires evacuate water very well. Difficult to get hydroplaning with water ruts on the interstates at any speed up to 80 MPH. Can take a corner in a FWD car in wet weather without excessive oversteer. Dry pavement: Handles very well for all seasons but sports car performance, try a summer track tire. Gravel roads: Holds traction very well, even in beach sand in low gearing. Highlights: Never have had a flat tire with these. Longest tread life of any tire I've fitted onto my car traveling on the same roads. Previous tires owned: OEM Dunlops Michelin X-ICE (I used these as my all-seasons because traction on the non-Continental tires was poor in the rain) Michelin MXV4s None of these tires come close to performance on my car than the Continental Extreme Contact DWS!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

125 of 242 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

November 20, 2013
2003 MAZDA PROTEGE 5 WAGON
MECHANICSVILLE, VA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Best all around.

Tire Cons

Price

I have two Mazda sedans. This is the third set of Conti's between them. I would buy nothing else, super traction, great stopping distance just grip like glue. We get quick / buckets of rain here in central Virginia and the grip is still perfect, never a fear of hydroplaning. Worth the price.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

150 of 291 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

February 09, 2013
2009 HONDA FIT SPORT
FUQUAY VARINA, NC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 2 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 60000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Very stable tire - great tread pattern with exceptional syping for wet

Tire Cons

Side wall softness - found that by keeping them inflated to 34-36lbs alleviated the soft feel

I purchased this tire as an upgrade from the Bridgestone tires as OE for the Honda Fit Sport. The Conti Extreme Contact DWS (DRY WET SNOW) are available as a 195/50 which replaced the 185/60's. If you do the math these tires are a direct replacement in terms of height and speedometer ratio. I have driven these tires for 60k - mostly Highway at 70-80mph and they have worn extremely well - current measurement is 3/32 of tread left. I highly recommend these as the replacement tire for the Honda Fit Sport.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

87 of 169 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

February 01, 2014
2012 HYUNDAI ACCENT SE 5-DOOR
RENO, NV
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Handling and noise reduction

Tire Cons

Non noted

Much better than the komos
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

134 of 265 people found the following review helpful

  7.7

June 11, 2013
2011 FORD FIESTA SEL/SES
EDINBURGH, IN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   2.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

Came with a warranty which is hard to find in this size of tire.

Tire Cons

Tread live is horrible.

In 8000 miles the front tires have already dropped to 7/32. Discount tire wouldn't give me much for 7/32 when wanted to get a new one (40.00 dollars) tire cost 117.00 new. Made some excuse that wouldn't be able to resell it for much. Another had a bubble form in it. Luckily had bought replacement coverage so they replaced it, but then had to pay 20.00 dollars to get replacement coverage on the new tire.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

52 of 105 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

July 03, 2014
2011 FORD FIESTA SEL/SES
Austin, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Feel safe. Haven't had any trouble.

Tire Cons

None Provided

I've had zero trouble w these tires. We've had some pretty bad rain this year, but I never felt like I was going to spin out or hydroplane.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as