Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

patrol
Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Continental ExtremeContact DWS

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (75)   8.8

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (75 Total Reviews)

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

December 22, 2012
2006 MAZDA 3 I 4-DOOR
INDIANAPOLIS, IN
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   6.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Probably the best tire for your money, made a major improvement in my car performance and made the ride much more comfortable
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

14 of 19 people found the following review helpful

  7.3

May 12, 2014
2009 MINI COOPER S CLUBMAN
FAIRBORN, OH
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   6.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   7.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Good wet, very good Snow traction.

Tire Cons

Not comparable to Summer tires. Dry traction is very compromised.

good winter. Bad summer
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful

  8.7

July 03, 2012
2008 VW RABBIT 2/4 DOOR
ATLANTA, GA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 8 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Best tire in the wet that I have ever owned

Tire Cons

Gas mileage is down by about a mile per gallon compared to factory tires (Turanzas)

I will see if the 50k mileage rating will happen. If it does, these are solid tires with superior wet traction. Great for Seattle!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

8 of 13 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

January 03, 2012

PORTAGE, IN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

So far these have been a great purchase. I've been pushing them regularly to find the limits of adhesion and still haven't had a moment when I felt in complete control. They've been superb in the dry, confidence inspiring in the wet and utterly predictable in the snow and ice.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

16 of 27 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

March 08, 2013
2005 PONTIAC VIBE HATCHBACK
LAKE CITY, FL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 9 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 14000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Smooth Ride Handling Noise Traction

Tire Cons

None Provided

Bought these tires new for my 2005 Pontiac Vibe. They are great! Definitely an upgrade from my previous Barum. The vehicle reacts well with these tires, both wet and dry. We even drove in some Northern snow this past winter, and was pleased with the performance. I have been very pleased, and fortunately have not found any cons.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

44 of 76 people found the following review helpful

  6.4

January 17, 2012
2010 HONDA CIVIC DX
ZIONSVILLE, IN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 8 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6100
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   7.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   4.0
Winter Traction   4.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

price

Tire Cons

poor grip on wet surfaces

the continentals do not perform as well as other tires purchased from discount tire for my other cars
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

23 of 40 people found the following review helpful

  7.8

January 03, 2012
2006 ACURA RSX BASE
HOUSTON, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 20000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   6.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Solid tires, with very good handling

Tire Cons

My mpg dropped by at least 3 mpg

The tires are excellent for traction in every weather condition I've been in. (No snow, I live in Houston.) The extra grip, I suspect, caused my miles per gallon of gas to drop a lot, so that's something to consider. The inflation is correct, so it's not that that caused the drop. On the noise issue, I simply don't know. I'm in an Acura RSX and it's just noisy inside the cabin. I'd definitely buy the tires again.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

8 of 14 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

March 19, 2012
2004 ACURA RSX BASE
INDIANAPOLIS, IN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7600
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

The 2011-12 winter season in Central Indiana has been extremely mild in terms of snowfall. The previous winter was typical, and the Yokohama V4S tires mounted on this car had less than 10K miles of life remaining. Believe me, the light-snow traction was dismal. In purchasing these new Continental ExtremeContact DWS tires during late October 2011, I was anxious to see what these tires could really do. One night in January, the opportunity presented itself. We had a heavy sleet storm. The streets were covered in what seemed like 2 to 3 inches of ice pellets. Acceleration and braking was impressive. Much better than those worn-out Yokohamas. On smooth asphalt, a very low-pitch hum exists, though nothing serious. The agressive tread design is the likely cause. High-speed cornering on entrance/exit ramps is fantastic! Overall, I think these are great tires. I'll get back with you after 20K miles.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

9 of 16 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

March 03, 2014
2005 TOYOTA MATRIX XR
LYNNWOOD, WA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 60000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

This is my second set of these tires and they are doing very well. I will buy another set when needed.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

36 of 67 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

July 12, 2012
2004 VW PASSAT GLX V6
GRIFFIN, GA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great Tires so far!Quiet and smooth-great handling!

Tire Cons

None Provided

10000 miles so far and no complaints. Continental is my new favorite brand.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as