Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button
Theology

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Kumho Ecsta AST

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (35)   7.6

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (35 Total Reviews)

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

  6.3

December 04, 2014
2008 FORD FOCUS SES
Lombard, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   3.0
Tread Life   7.0
Dry Traction   7.0
Wet Traction   7.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Good value so far. Ford Focuses are know for chewing up tires and these seem tp be wearing better than some of the others I purchased. The BFG's I bought at Discount Tire were terrible. They were noisy and the tread life was lousy. I calculated less than 15,000 mile use on the BFG's. I think the Kumho's will do better. I switch tires and rims in the winter to winter tires. The Falkens I bought from Discount Tire are wearing even and well. Again, the Kumho's are a good value so far. I wish they weren't directional though.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful

  8.5

November 09, 2014
2002 FORD FOCUS ZTS/ZX5
North Hills, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2400
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Good buy for the money
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

49 of 74 people found the following review helpful

  7.5

August 24, 2014
2002 FORD FOCUS ZTS/ZX5
San Antonio, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2500
Ride Comfort   5.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   2.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Noisy, a little rough, hits hard on small holes.

Tire Cons

Exceptional steering control and handling in curves and cornering on wet or dry surfaces.

My Kumho's are noisy at moderate speeds and a little less at higher speeds, but the traction on dry surfaces is great and makes up for the noise. On wet surfaces, the control, handling and steering in cornering and sharp curves is exceptional, especionally on my front wheel drive Focus with a very light rear end. The ride is a little rough, but to me is exspected due to the very low profile sidewalls of the tires. The confidence I have driving these tires in all types of weather conditions is very high. The control they give me overrides the noise by far. The only reason I would not buy another set is if something better came along.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

118 of 206 people found the following review helpful

  7.2

May 04, 2014
1998 HONDA PRELUDE ALL
SACRAMENTO, CA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   2.0
Tread Life   7.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

i like the tires and warranty please send discount coupon
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

230 of 404 people found the following review helpful

  3.7

March 25, 2012
2003 FORD FOCUS ZX5
KNOXVILLE, TN
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 year 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 19500
Ride Comfort   6.0
Cornering/Steering   5.0
Ride Noise   4.0
Tread Life   1.0
Dry Traction   5.0
Wet Traction   4.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

none

Tire Cons

Poor wet traction Terrible tread wear Average at best dry traction

I have purchased Kumho tires for years. This is a terrible tire in my opinion. This AST is not only the worst Kumho I have ever purchased, but the worst tire I have purchased in the last 30 years of buying tires. Wet traction was terrible and I got less than 20,000 miles in 13 months of driving. I typically get at least twice the mileage on tires of this class. I may never buy another Kumho tire based on this experience...and that is a shame as I have been very satisfied in the past.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

231 of 418 people found the following review helpful

  4.0

April 28, 2013
2005 FORD FOCUS ZX4/ZX4 ST
BELOEIL, QC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 15000
Ride Comfort   5.0
Cornering/Steering   5.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life   3.0
Dry Traction   3.0
Wet Traction   3.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Was cheap enough, and were available locally.

Tire Cons

Greasy when new, tread life was not very good for the advertised UTQG.

Bought these because my local dealer (yeah, I know...) couldn't get the Falken 912 I wanted. Kept them for two summers, and the 2nd one I had to be careful in the rain. The first month they were very slippery under any conditions! The tread washed away so fast it was incredible for a 400 UTQG-rated tire. Went back to Falkens...
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

235 of 428 people found the following review helpful

  7.5

August 08, 2013
2001 FORD FOCUS ZX3
RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   7.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

good tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

199 of 366 people found the following review helpful

  3.3

December 13, 2011
2003 FORD FOCUS ZX3
MINNEAPOLIS, MN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 15000
Ride Comfort   5.0
Cornering/Steering   4.0
Ride Noise   3.0
Tread Life   1.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   1.0
Winter Traction   1.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Spins on wet roads, and if it snows just plan on staying home.

Tire Cons

Excellent in dry weather.

These tires are only good in dry conditions. Wet or Snow is garbage. I also had the sidewall of this tire blow out on the freeway, and no I didn't hit anything.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

90 of 166 people found the following review helpful

  6.3

July 02, 2014
2003 MAZDA PROTEGE ES
West Jordan, UT
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   1.0
Tread Life   7.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

Extreme Road Noise

Beyond extreme road noise, these tires are okay. Not sure if it has to do with the fact that these are 205 sized tires put on vehicle requiring 195, but they were put on after the attendant felt they would be okay to use. Our 195 tire was not in stock at the time. Will be looking to change these tires out with a different supplier this time.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

167 of 311 people found the following review helpful

  6.2

October 22, 2013
2011 FORD FOCUS SEL SEDAN
HOWELL, MI
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 18000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   6.0
Tread Life   1.0
Dry Traction   7.0
Wet Traction   7.0
Winter Traction   1.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

wore out is less than half the miles rated for....

I will be writing a letter to your company and the total dissatisfaction of these tires. I had a low tire pressure warning today on my car. I took it to discount tire to get pressure check, the manager said your tire are worn out already..... I now have to pay to get new tires.... this is wrong I will not be recommending these tires any tires form this company again, unless they make it right for my family.... William Chaperon
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire