Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button
poetic

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Continental ExtremeContact DWS

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (11)   8.6

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (11 Total Reviews)

35 of 60 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

February 21, 2013
1999 MERCEDES BENZ E320 210 CHASIS
STERLING HEIGHTS, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great traction in both wet/dry/snow conditions!

Tire Cons

Cornering is good but not as good as Yokohamas

These tires are amazing! Great traction and ride quality, even in bad weather conditions. I was pleasantly surprised by how good they are in snow!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

33 of 57 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

April 25, 2013
2006 VW PASSAT GLS
WHEAT RIDGE, CO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   6.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

So far as i have driven with these tires i have had nothing but good things to say about these tires, they handle well in dry conditions, wet of course they will slip but not excessively, and snow they grip well. All in all i am happy with these tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

33 of 57 people found the following review helpful

  6.0

February 17, 2012
2006 CHEVROLET HHR LS/LT
EVANSTON, IL
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   6.0
Winter Traction   5.0
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I am always looking for tires that will serve me well all year. Therefore I want the best all purpose tire with the highest snow traction ratings. This tire had very high ratings in this regard. What I didn't realize is that these rating are different for different classes of tires. These tires are mediocre for snow AT BEST. No where as good as the Goodyear Triple Treads. I should have paid the extra money.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

33 of 58 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

April 03, 2013
2008 VW PASSAT KOMFORT
HOLLAND, MI
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quite, comfortable, smooth, ride.

Tire Cons

Haven't found any yet.

The best tire I've owned in my 54 years of driving. They are great in snow and wet conditions yet smooth and quite when driving on dry roads. If they last for 50,000 mile I will certianly buy these again.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

32 of 60 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

July 12, 2012
2008 SAAB 9-3 2.0T SPORT SDN
ENGLEWOOD, CO
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

The best tires I've ever put on my car. I bought them to replace a set of Parelli P6's.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

29 of 56 people found the following review helpful

  6.5

September 12, 2013
2007 SAAB 9-3 2.0T SPORT SDN
CIRCLE PINES, MN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 3 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 30000
Ride Comfort   5.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   4.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   7.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   6.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Wet and Dry grip, tread life.

Tire Cons

Poor build quality (defective tire), snow performance did not meet expectations.

Very noisy tire after 20k. Don't believe the hype....snow/slush performance did not meet my expectations. My car was properly aligned and my car was veering severly to the left. Front tire was moved to the back and no more veering. Tire was deemed defective which I've read is not that uncommon for the DWS. I've never had much luck with Continantal tires. Switched to Michelin.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

30 of 61 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

November 18, 2013
2001 SAAB 9-5 2.3T/3.0SE
YORKTOWN HEIGHTS, NY
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I bought these because of their reputation for great performance in bad weather. Haven't had a chance to test them in snow yet, but they really slice through puddles like a knife through butter. I wasn't so much concerned with comfort, noise, or tread life, but they've exceeded my expectations in all three of these categories.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

24 of 50 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

July 04, 2012
2009 BMW 328I SEDAN E90
ORLANDO, FL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 8 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Wet traction Ride Low noise Price

Tire Cons

Vague steering response

The DWS tires are installed on both a 2009 bmw 328i and a 2008 Honda Civic SI. First my experience with Discount Tires was second to none. I have had nearly every brand of tire on various cars over the years. Overall the DWS are the best tires I have owned. The only major issue is the vague steering response. Once you learn the steering inputs required at the limits, you can ovecome the steering response issue. Wet and dry traction are excellent.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

24 of 54 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

October 03, 2013
2005 VOLVO S60 2.4
WINTER PARK, FL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

These tires gave my car back its Luxury feeling.

Tire Cons

None Provided

For me the only place to purchase tires is from Discount tires on 436 just north of 50.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful

  8.2

March 26, 2014
2000 VOLVO S80 SEDAN
OMAHA, NE
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Simply a very good tire
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as