Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

posts
Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Continental ExtremeContact DWS

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (20)   8.9

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (20 Total Reviews)

52 of 87 people found the following review helpful

  8.1

January 23, 2012
2002 PONTIAC GRAND AM GT
PAWNEE, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 9 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   6.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great tires that look nice and ride well. I do have a slow leak in one tire that I will have to take back to Discount for repair, but no they will repair it while I wait which is one of the reasons to buy tires from Discount Tire.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

55 of 95 people found the following review helpful

  9.4

January 25, 2012
2006 SUBARU IMPREZA WRX STI
HERRIMAN, UT
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 10 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 20000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Tires are great, grip really well even under slippery conditions
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

66 of 115 people found the following review helpful

  8.2

April 09, 2013
2001 BMW Z3 /E36/7 2.5I BASE
RICHARDSON, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 2 years 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 30000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   7.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   5.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

very good traction in dry and wet less noise and nibbling than previous Contis better wear than previous Contis or the DW version

Tire Cons

not quite as good in the twisties as the DW version of this tire

I usually only buy two tires at a time, and put the newest ones on the rear. I have retired my first pair of DWS's after about 30K miles, and my second pair will reach that number by May '13 and are almost to the wear indicators on the inside edge of the tread. It may seem like that isn't great longevity, but my previous Contis wore out much faster, and I am very pleased with every part of these tires (mileage, dry traction, wet traction, braking and cornering, noise and comfort). I've been coast to coast driving every mountain road I can find and run regularly with groups of M Roadsters and Z4M's. We go fast, and they've never lost me yet. I'm buying my 4th pair of DWS's next month, and also use them on my '08 535i. You can find better tires, but not at this price point!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

53 of 100 people found the following review helpful

  7.0

February 25, 2013
2000 PONTIAC GRAND AM SE BASE
OROVILLE, WA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Rain
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 500
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   5.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   6.0
Winter Traction   1.0
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

-The go around. -Tires work fine in the dry.

Tire Cons

-NOT good in snow or ice.

The tires went on the in-town car that just does 10-15km a day a few days a week. I could not justify snow tires for a vehicle that doesn't leave the safety of the plowed and sanded streets, which turns out to be a mistake. These tires are nowhere near the wet/snow traction we got with our previous bald GoodYear TripleTred all weather tires. Quite possibly the most unsafe tire ever mounted for use in light snow.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

51 of 98 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

April 25, 2013
2003 BMW Z4 /E85 2.5I BASE
GOODYEAR, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good value

Tire Cons

None

Purchased tires in Illinois and immediately drove 1800 miles to the Phoenix, Arizona area. The tires performed flawlessly and continue to do so. Very pleased with my decision to buy these tires. They have almost completely eliminated the so-called "sticky steering" phenomenon experienced by some BMW owners.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

40 of 77 people found the following review helpful

  9.4

January 25, 2012
2002 OLDS ALERO GLS
WILLOWBROOK, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 10 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

These tires have been great. In normal conditions they perform great. Add in rain or snow and you still get great traction in inclement weather, as long as you drive for the conditions.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

46 of 89 people found the following review helpful

  8.5

February 19, 2013
1998 BMW 323I/IS/IC E36
LEBANON, TN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 2 years 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 25000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

very quiet with good traction and turn in.

Tire Cons

None Provided

Discount tire ordered the wrong size Falken ZIEX tires and the manager upgraded me to these for free. These are the tires I should have bought in the first place. Very pleased with tires and the service from DT couldn't have been better. I've bought two sets of tires from DT and will be back.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

28 of 55 people found the following review helpful

  8.2

July 12, 2012
2002 PONTIAC GRAND AM SE BASE
EUGENE, OR
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7000
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   7.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Good value Good wear

Tire Cons

None Provided

I was really pleased with the handling of standing water road conditions...I feel really safe and secure with my Continental extremecontact DWS. I am glad that someone is making a great tire in an affordable price for those of us who want the safest and best we can get without spending a fortune to do so. Thank you so much for offering these tires!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

49 of 97 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

January 24, 2012
1997 BMW Z3 /E36/7 2.5I BASE
COLUMBUS, OH
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 10 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

handle great on wet roads

Tire Cons

none

I never liked to drive on wet roads before due to poor handling. These new tires handle fabulously!!!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

30 of 61 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

March 26, 2012
1985 BMW 635CSI E24
RALEIGH, NC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Excellent tire

Tire Cons

none

Wonderfule experience,from instllation to driving. Great Shop, great tires@ agreat price = value, THANKS!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as