Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (124)   9.1

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (124 Total Reviews)

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

  7.3

November 29, 2014
2008 HONDA ODYSSEY EX-L
Valparaiso, IN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 years 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 60000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   4.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   7.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Quieter than Goodyear TripleTred Gas mileage seemed to go up slightly Good at highway speeds

Tire Cons

Pricey No where near the tread life of 90K --- they only lasted for 60K!!

I bought the Defenders to replace my Goodyear TripleTreds which were very loud at highway speeds. The Defenders were much quieter. The Defenders did resist hydroplaning and had good wet grip, however they were not as good as the TripleTreds. The Defenders were supposed to last for 90K miles which enticed me to buy them since the Goodyears only lasted for 50K miles. The Michelins only lasted for 60K miles even though I was vigilant in rotation as documented on my Discount Tire account. If you want to pay a lot for tires that only last to 60K miles, you may like these Michelin Defenders. I would serious search for a cheaper alternative.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  8.2

November 25, 2014
2010 HONDA ODYSSEY EX-L
Houston, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Odyssey prone to road noise. These tires are good for this car...quieter than previous tires

Tire Cons

None Provided

Good tires. They perform well for this Honda Odyssey and I would purchase for this car.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

May 06, 2014
2009 HONDA ODYSSEY LX/EX
CIRCLE PINES, MN
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7800
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

These tires have been great!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

May 03, 2014
2008 SATURN VUE XE
CHICAGO, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2500
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

American made

Tire Cons

None

Quite comfortable traction wet dry snow got Michelins on my f150 same results
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

19 of 25 people found the following review helpful

  8.5

June 05, 2014
2005 HONDA ODYSSEY EX-L
Thompsons Station, TN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Best tires for my vehicle
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

26 of 36 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

May 07, 2014
2006 SATURN VUE 235/65R16
OVIEDO, FL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3500
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great highway tire. Very quiet at speed. Ride is smooth and controlled.

Tire Cons

None yet.

Prior to having the Michelins mounted, my original equipment tires were noisy on many road surfaces. Now, no matter what the road surface might be, the tire noise is almost non-existent. The ride is more comfortable, too. Once a quarter, I drive to Virginia from my home in Central Florida. My Saturn Vue is more comfortable than ever. And, having a conversation, listening to music, or taking a nap can be done without having to block out road noise. Control, which was always good, has suprisingly become better. I notice it especially when passing big rigs on the highway. The Vue handles the buffeting very well, now. The tires have no rolling resistance which equates to better gas mileage. I have a Chevy Colorado that will need new tires soon. I will be putting a set of Michelin tires on it as well.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

October 17, 2014
2008 HONDA ODYSSEY EX-L
Troy, MI
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

outstanding driving characteristics

Tire Cons

none

The Michelin Defender is an outstanding tire and is the second set purchased; the first one being on my wife's 2005 Honda Accord.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

August 03, 2013
2007 HONDA ELEMENT EX
LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet, quiet

Tire Cons

Not as sporty or as stiff as previous tires

I had GY tripletred before. I gave up a bit of sporty or stiff feeling for being able to think in the car. These tires are the "quiet" Iwas hoping for. I do feel confident in the tires abilities dry or rain.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

34 of 49 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

April 22, 2013
2008 CHRYSLER TOWN & COUNTRY LX
PHOENIX, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Excellent tire
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

13 of 19 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

June 29, 2014
2009 HONDA ODYSSEY EX-L
Minneapolis, MN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I love my defenders! I can feel the difference from my prior low-end tires and I love knowing that I have better control and safety for my family. GREAT tires, would buy them again in a heart beat.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as

periods