Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

discrimination
Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (86)   9.2

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (86 Total Reviews)

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

  8.6

March 02, 2014
2009 HONDA ODYSSEY EX-L
IRVING, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 500
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Quiet, comfortable ride

Tire Cons

price

Recently installed a set of 4 and the difference is very noticeable. The ride is now very quiet and comfortable with very good road grip. No issues whatsoever. This is my 2nd set of Defenders. Installed the first set on a different vehicle last year and the tires did very well in snow/ice and on dry roads so the choice of Defenders on Ody was easy. Defender is also CR top rated tire in Standard All Season tire category. Considering that and my personal experience with Defenders on other vehicle made for an easy decision.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  7.7

March 11, 2014
2010 HONDA ODYSSEY EX-L
HOLLAND, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   3.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   6.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

The ride is smooth and quiet. Snow traction is much better than I expected for an A/S tire.

Tire Cons

The tires feel spongy in transition. They do take a solid set and the limits are fairly high but they do not inspire confidence.

Smooth quiet ride - better than expected. They take up the bumps really well and virtually eliminate tire slap over expansion joints. They are have very good snow traction for an A/S tire. I planned to purchase snow tires for the van this winter but after driving these I did not. We will see if this holds true as the tires wear. The tires appear to be wearing very well. I am disappointed in the driving dynamics of these tires. The limits are good and they slip predictably but they do not feel nice when trasnitioning into a corner. The vans feels out of control till the tire takes a set. This does not inspire confidence. I would likely opt for the OE tire before purchasing these again. It was noisier but IMO drove better.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

January 12, 2014
2005 HONDA ODYSSEY LX/EX
WARNER ROBINS, GA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7200
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Smooth, comfortable, and handling is great. Discount Tire has kept my tires at the proper inflation and I am a satified customer.

Tire Cons

None

I would diffently purchase this tire again when the time comes.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

November 24, 2013
2009 SATURN VUE XE
HUMBLE, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Very good tire

Tire Cons

None

Very satisfied with quality
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

16 of 22 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

November 24, 2013
2007 HONDA ODYSSEY EX-L
NAPERVILLE, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet. Good handling and traction.

Tire Cons

none so far.

I REALLY like how quiet these tires are and hope they stay that way. The previous brand of tires started out quiet and soon got noisy. So far, there are no indications I'll have that problem with these Defenders. Although I don't drive this vehicle aggressively (it's a minivan!), I believe these tires have held the road in all conditions better than the earlier tires. We haven't had a chance to try them in snow yet.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

54 of 79 people found the following review helpful

  7.5

August 17, 2012
2007 HONDA ODYSSEY LX/EX
ARLINGTON, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5500
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   1.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Good grip in both wet and dry conditions. Corner well.

Tire Cons

Road Noise, ROAD Noise, ROAD NOISE. And Road Noise.

We bought this tire for our Honda Odyssey looking for high mileage tires with a good brand (Michelin), replacing Falken ZE912s that wore out in 25K miles. These tires were noticeably louder when new and are getting louder by the mile. The treadwear looks good so far, they are great in the rain, drive well in the dry and ride fairly well, but the road noise will cause us to change these tires well before they wear out. Like in the next week or so. On some roads, you can't even carry on a conversation or hear the radio. DID I MENTION THEY ARE LOUD! Sorry - couldn't hear myself when I said it the first time.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

42 of 65 people found the following review helpful

  6.5

August 15, 2012
2005 HONDA ODYSSEY EX-L
GLENDALE, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 150
Ride Comfort   4.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   6.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Corner great

Tire Cons

can't get them balance and the ride is rougher than the OEM tires

Honda vans are hard on tires, especially the outer edges due to the van's design. The Michelin OEM's only gave me 45K miles and 30K on the last set. Was glad to see the Defender with 90K warranty...but will be returning them. Right after installation they were out of balance at highway speeds and the ride is rougher than the OEM tires...and they "sing" just a tad...even on rubberized asphalt. I had them re-balanced and nothing changed. The tech said they calibrate the balance machines every morning and I was the first one in the store. Either the balancing machine is off, or the tires are horrible.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

14 of 22 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

October 18, 2013
2007 CHEVROLET EQUINOX LS
WATERFORD, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Considering the utqg not expensive

Tire Cons

For all the pos hanging in store it did not seem to be a first choice of sales person

The eqionox isn't the most stable of handling. This tire was great.Quiet on the road, very responsive. I usually put on snow type tires for winter but am going to try these.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful

  7.0

February 03, 2013
2006 HONDA ODYSSEY LX/EX
HOUSTON, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   7.0
Dry Traction   7.0
Wet Traction   7.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

No comments. Good tires!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

10 of 16 people found the following review helpful

  9.6

November 01, 2013
1997 BENTLEY BROOKLANDS LWB
ATLANTA, GA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Much better than the Goodyears. Only problem is wall rating should be higher for my car, but they work. Pretty quiet and comfortable ride.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as