Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (36)   9.3

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (36 Total Reviews)

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

October 23, 2014
2011 CHRYSLER TOWN & COUNTRY TOURING
Taylor, MI
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Excellent handling and ride quality.

Tire Cons

none

Finest Tires I have ever owned!!!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

73 of 119 people found the following review helpful

  6.6

June 21, 2013
2008 HYUNDAI TUCSON SE/LIMITED
PHOENIX, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 11 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 9000
Ride Comfort   5.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   1.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Smooth ride and minimal road noise

Tire Cons

Wear, unstable over bumps.

This is my wife's car, we were attracted to the high mileage warranty and advertising of minimal road noise. In less than a year and only 10% of warranted tread life the tread on all 4 tires are to the wear bars, all evenly, meaning alignment and pressures were in spec. The person at Discount Tire was dumbfounded at what he saw when I took it in for them to look at. Should you run over a manhole, a small bump or uneven areas in the road the car jostles from side to side as if someone was pushing the car back and forth from the side, very unnerving. I don't think they were losing traction so I rated traction toward superior and rated ride comfort on the low side since all is well as long as the pavement has no blemishes. They are smooth riding and road noise is very low on even pavement. May have been a bad batch since all other reviews for this tire are very positive.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

14 of 23 people found the following review helpful

  8.7

September 10, 2014
2005 HYUNDAI TUCSON GLS/LX
Lehi, UT
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4500
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Love Michelins, and try to stay on them always, price being the primary factor in that decision.

Tire Cons

Price. But, since you get what you pay for, I prefer stretching because how can you really put a price on the lives you carry in your car?

I've been a Michelin customer, off and on as my personal finances permit. So, when I needed tires this last time after buying a used Hyundai Tucson, I decided that since I could afford them, I would get the very best tire available. Michelin Defenders won the day. Their ratings on every site I researched was absolutely top shelf every time. I won't buy another tire in the future. Michelin, and specifically the Defender tire, has set the bar very high. Does anyone else make a better tire? Not for my money.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

69 of 115 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

May 28, 2013
2007 MERCURY GRAND MARQUIS SEDAN
LIVONIA, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6100
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet, excellent ride quality, great fuel mileage.

Tire Cons

None so far

These tires have been through all weather conditions and have given a sense of surefootedness no matter what they drive through. They ride better and grip better than the Michelins that came from the factory on the car. Excellent product that I would recommend to anyone looking for this type of tire.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

September 25, 2014
2004 MERCURY MONTEREY 16-INCH
Westmont, IL
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Good tires, smooth ride.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

67 of 116 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

May 14, 2013
2010 CHRYSLER TOWN & COUNTRY LX
WARREN, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

wet/snow traction, ride comfort

Tire Cons

None Provided

Best tire ever driven on. Can't wait for the Destiny's on my other car to wear out to buy these. Snow traction was amazing, as is the wet/dry traction. Rolling resistance seems to be minimal.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

40 of 70 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

July 11, 2013
2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON GL
SAN DIEGO, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great value tire. Discount Tire match another good deal i had elsewhere. the shop i got it form was neat and clean and good service
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

49 of 86 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

August 04, 2013
2005 HYUNDAI TUCSON GLS/LX
LAS VEGAS, NV
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great tire, worth the price
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

25 of 44 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

March 09, 2014
2002 CADILLAC SEVILLE STS/SLS
AUSTELL, GA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Handles well in dry and wet weather

Tire Cons

No cons

great tires
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

53 of 94 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

May 16, 2013
2007 HYUNDAI TUCSON GLS
COLLEGE STATION, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 100
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

So Far So Good
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as