Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

BFGoodrich Rugged Terrain T/A

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (9)   8.5

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (9 Total Reviews)

70 of 127 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

January 15, 2013
2004 FORD EXPLORER LIMITED
ALHAMBRA, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

VERY GOOD TIRE !

Tire Cons

None Provided

WILL BUY THESE TIRE AGAIN !
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

59 of 113 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

February 18, 2012
2004 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC
HOUSTON, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

My daughter drives the vehicle and I feel that it is safe now and those tires are wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

60 of 115 people found the following review helpful

  8.2

July 11, 2012
2003 DODGE DAKOTA P245/70R16
FOLSOM, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 500
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

look and ride very nice

Tire Cons

none so far

from start to finish the transaction couldnt have been smoother. i got what I think is a good price on tires and wheels, they look and perform wonderfully. staff was very profesional and efficiant. I would defiettaly use american tire again and have already reccomended them to family and friends!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

7 of 14 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

May 28, 2014
2003 DODGE DURANGO SPORT
GREELEY, CO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 100
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

looks good and rides very good and no road noise

Tire Cons

none yet

They beat another companies price and gave us 6 months same as cash financing. They had to order these tires in and when there was a delay they gave another credit. This is the second vehicle I have bought tires through discount tire and the customer service has been great. The tires them selves are great.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

66 of 134 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

June 06, 2013
2003 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 255/70R16
RIDGECREST, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   4.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

The tires have great traction and side wall control. They have barely worn at all with almost 6000 miles on them.

Tire Cons

Due to the aggressive traction design they do produce some road noise.

I have had several sets of Bfg's installed on several vehicles and they have been the best tires i have ever bought. Would highly recommend these tires to any one that is tired of having to buy tires all the time because of tread wear. As far as i am concerned they are the best tires that money can buy. I had a set on a jeep wrangler and got almost 90,000 miles out of them before i had to change them, plus they get the best on and off road traction that i have ever gotten out of a tire.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

59 of 120 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

June 06, 2013
2003 FORD F-150 XL/XLT
PELZER, SC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Off Road
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good mud traction, low highway noise, nice sidewall graphics, good price value

Tire Cons

Picks up and retains gravel in tread area.

These tires are used on a farm and they provide good mud traction without the road noise of a true mud tire. No signs of wear at 7000 miles. A good option in place of a higher price all terrain type tire.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

54 of 112 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

May 18, 2013
2002 FORD EXPLORER XLS/XLT
PHOENIX, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

BF Goodrich reliability. Reasonably priced. Good looks. Tread life.

Tire Cons

None so far.

I am a BF Goodrich All-Terrain fan. My last 3 Ford Broncos and current Explorer all rode on them. When my last set on the Explorer wore out due to poor alignment, I decided to save a little cash and try the Rugged Terrains. No regrets here. They're quieter, smoother riding and the rain grooves make a difference when it actually rains here. The All-Terrains don't have these grooves. I would definitely buy another set when the time comes.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

59 of 124 people found the following review helpful

  4.7

January 14, 2013
1999 FORD F-150 ALL CABS
PUEBLO, CO
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   6.0
Cornering/Steering   6.0
Ride Noise   6.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   1.0
Wet Traction   1.0
Winter Traction   1.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Price was purchasing factor. Nice looking tire.

Tire Cons

Poor traction.

Thread pattern doesn't give good traction on wet, snow, mud, or even loose gravel roads.Probably good if you never left the city. I live in the country and travel on dirt roads. This was a poor choice of tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

55 of 122 people found the following review helpful

  8.7

May 20, 2013
2006 FORD RANGER FX4
FORT WAYNE, IN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

excellent snow grip during winter...rain grip excellent ,as well...
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as