Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

minority
Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Yokohama YK580

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (93)   8.5

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (93 Total Reviews)

88 of 134 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

November 04, 2013
2006 MAZDA 3 S 4/5-DOOR
NAPERVILLE, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 1500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

QUIET! Gave my car a new solid feel.

Tire Cons

Cruddy reputation.

I drive a lot. My stock Goodyears didn't last. I installed Yoko YK520's and they were LOUD - lasted a while, but LOUD. I then get the Michelin Pilot Sport AS Plus. These were expensive and Z rated, excellent performance until about 5000 miles ago and decent on the noise level. I did my research and decided on the Hankook Ventus V12 Evo K110, but the sales guy said oh no, you want the Yoko YH580's. I laughed! I said dem biches are loud, I had the YK520's! He said yes, the 520's were night and day. He did a good job convincing me, plus I figured I have 30 days to change my mind. The ride home was a thrill. I couldn't believe how quiet they were and how good my car felt again. Anyway, the YK580's are an awesome set of tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

53 of 87 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

April 25, 2014
2006 MAZDA 3 S 4/5-DOOR
LAKE FOREST, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Nice profile, tread, smoothness, quietness.

Tire Cons

None

Great tire for this care. Looks and feels like a factory designed option.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

57 of 94 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

February 25, 2014
2008 MAZDA 5 ALL
GULF BREEZE, FL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 21500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Excellent MPG. Great traction. Wears well.

Tire Cons

Can be a little noisy at speeds above 65. Nothing major just a little whine.

2/32 wear in 21,500 miles. Hope to get the advertised 60,000. Great cornering and steering. One of the best tire investments I have ever made. I would definitely recommend them.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

62 of 104 people found the following review helpful

  5.2

August 04, 2012
2010 MAZDA 3 5-DOOR
SUN CITY WEST, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 650
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   5.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   4.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Comfortable ride, very sticky feeling, fairly quiet, very pliable over bumps and rough roads, RR Tracks, etc.

Tire Cons

Squirmy and mushy sidewall, but good tread grip. At speed, loud over expansion joints, poor gas mileage.

First let me say I have this tire on my Mercury Grand Marquis Ultimate Edition and it is awesome! But on my Mazda 3 hatchback sport it was a very bad choice. At the recommended 32 PSI the tire was quiet but mushy, and gave very bad MPG, I went from 30 to 24. I raised the PSI to 38, less mush but very loud on the freeway and only a small improvement in MPG. Took them back to DT within the 30 days, they put me on Pirelli P6 all season Plus. Have only had them one day but very big change for the better in feel, handling and cornering, but don't know the MPG yet. Will review those later. In short, the YK580 is a great tire but in 205-50-17. It just does not work in that tire size. KUDOS to Discount, they give the best customer service. Thanks guys.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

50 of 85 people found the following review helpful

  5.7

January 09, 2013
2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA SEDAN LMTD
LONGMONT, CO
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6300
Ride Comfort   4.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   4.0
Tread Life   7.0
Dry Traction   7.0
Wet Traction   5.0
Winter Traction   3.0
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

They are way noisier than I expected/hoped they would be. I was hoping for WAY better traction in snow and on slick surfaces.

Having paid $800+, I expected a more quiet tire, and one that grips on all sorts of road conditions better than these have done.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

48 of 83 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

February 24, 2014
2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER GT
SAUK RAPIDS, MN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Second vehicle used mostly for in town driving. Pleased with traction this winter which has been unusually bitter. Lots of ice and snow on city streets. Have confidence in traction on this front wheel drive vehicle.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

56 of 97 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

January 13, 2012
2010 MAZDA 3 5-DOOR
ALBUQUERQUE, NM
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great Handling Characteristics Did very well in wet/light snow Great stopping and cornering

Tire Cons

Tires rode rough at higher speeds (70+) compared to OEM tires from Mazda

The Yoko S34Ds which came standard on the 2010 Mazda 3 wore out quickly and cost a great deal more to replace. I was looking at the Yoko Avid Envigor but the dealer steered me to these and told me they were made exclusively for Discount Tires. When the YK580s were first put on the car, I noticed they gave the Mazda 3 nice tight handling and crisp stopping characteristics compared to the S34s. Very nice. Then we had some bad weather, wet and light snow conditions and these tires did very well. However I also noticed that at high speeds (over 70 mph) they produced a lot more vibration to the steering wheel than the S34s. Not a lot but enough to be noticeable. The dealer was very cooperative and rebalanced the tires after I'd driven on them for a while. That helped considerably, but I still feel the YK580s do ride just a bit rougher at high speed driving (70+ mph) than the original S34s did. However I feel that the superior handling characteristics and the all-weather capabilities of this tire more than made up for that single issue. The YK580s have a great tread pattern which grips the road nicely in all conditions I've encountered. I certainly hope these will last much longer than the original S34s which were pretty much gone at 18K-20K miles and many Mazda drivers have said the same thing. Of course, I never drive 75-85 mph on a regular basis, but my only dislike of the YK580s is that they do not ride quite as smooth at high speeds as the S34s did, but all their other characteristics make up for this. If you do not do a lot of high-speed driving you may not even notice this characteristic of these tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

40 of 70 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

July 11, 2012
2007 SCION TC COUPE
SCHERTZ, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

So far very pleased...
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

49 of 86 people found the following review helpful

  5.8

July 14, 2012
2006 MAZDA 3 S 4/5-DOOR
DEBARY, FL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   6.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life   5.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   4.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

Greasy in thr rain.

Not much to say... Theyre tires. Some road noise. Less traction than hoped in rain. If tread life holds out ill be happy to purchase again... For i hope a different car.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

29 of 51 people found the following review helpful

  5.0

January 08, 2014
2009 SUBARU LEGACY 2.5GT LIMITED
AUSTIN, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 10 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   5.0
Cornering/Steering   5.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life   5.0
Dry Traction   5.0
Wet Traction   5.0
Winter Traction   5.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

ok

Tire Cons

na

still in process of adjudgement.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Discount Tire CarCareONE Credit Card
©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as