Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button
laugh

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Continental ExtremeContact DWS

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (98)   8.6

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (98 Total Reviews)

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

July 11, 2012
2007 AUDI A3 2.0T HATCHBACK
BELLINGHAM, WA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 8 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Tires are great so far, very little road noise and haven't noticed any slipping in wet weather.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

December 26, 2012
2011 SUBARU IMPREZA 2.5I
HOWELL, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great winter and wet weather tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

July 12, 2012
2004 SUBARU IMPREZA WRX SEDAN
ANN ARBOR, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5400
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   4.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Good traction & grip on dry Cool tred pattern High sidewall protecting rim

Tire Cons

Has almost no grip on ice, but again what else does?

Overall a good tire for use with a WRX wagon.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful

  8.4

November 26, 2013

CASTLE ROCK, CO
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Well, I have not driven long enough on the tires yet to knowthe difference. But I love them, especially compared to the run flats on my BMWxi
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

94 of 148 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

January 02, 2012
2001 VW PASSAT GLX V6
AUSTIN, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 3 years 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 47000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Exceptional tire! Superior treadlife Outstanding performance

Tire Cons

None

This tire is phenomenal!!! For ultra high performance, summer only tires, the Michelin Pilot Sport is the best tire getting ~35k miles treadlife, aggressively driven on a BMW 330Ci convertible with M3 sport package, but it has a high price. However, for ultra high performance all season tires, this Continental ExtremeContact DWS is the BEST TIRE especially considering its price/performance value. I do not mean to say this is a ‘value tire’ – it is a huge value compared to the pricier Michelin. I have had two sets of four of Continental ExtremeContact DWS, 225/45ZR17 91W BSW on my 2001.5 VW Passat GLS, 2.8l, V-6 with custom Rage Coda 17” wheels. I got 45k miles and 47k miles on these two sets of four that were driven aggressively, and I had no tire repairs in the lifetime of any of these 8 tires. These ExtremeContact have been mainly driven as ultra high performance summer tires and driven year round in Central Texas, where we do get snow and ice on occasion in the winter months and where we get torrential rain downpours in short periods of time. They are exceptional on dry pavement, wet pavement and icy winter roads in the short winter months when an ultra high performance summer tire is like driving on a skate. These ExtremeContact exceed all expectations! If you are looking for an all season tire that is also driven extensively in hot summer months, this is the tire for you!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

49 of 83 people found the following review helpful

  7.5

July 11, 2012
2008 SUBARU IMPREZA WRX STI
OLYMPIA, WA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7500
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   6.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Excellent price, solid traction and handling. Excellent customer service - mounting and rotations.

Tire Cons

Non to think of off hand.

I purchaced these tires for spirited all around driving. So far they have not let me down. With just the right firmness in the sidewalls to make it feel like you have complete control, without that harsh riding on rail sensation. Even though I only have 7500 mi on the tires the tread still looks like new. For the price I can't complain.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

122 of 207 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

January 04, 2013
2005 MERCEDES BENZ C230 SEDAN 203 CHASIS
MURFREESBORO, TN
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 3 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 45000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet, smooth ride, low cost for the miles.

Tire Cons

none.

Rotated/Balanced every 5000 miles. One of the better tires I have purchased in my life. Seems to be well suited for Mercedes C230. I expect to get close to 50,000 before I buy again.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

36 of 62 people found the following review helpful

  8.5

April 25, 2013
2007 MERCEDES BENZ C230 SEDAN 203 CHASIS
DYER, IN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 year
Miles Driven on Tires: 13100
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   4.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Tire is excellent good response.

Tire Cons

Sidewalls are the worst, bubbled sidewall so easily and Continental wont cover it.

Tire responded great but I hit pothole and it bubbled on the sidewall immediately, my brother bought same tire for his Cadillac STS and same thing happened. Continental told me after 12 months TOOO BADDD. SO I would look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

40 of 70 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

July 11, 2012
2010 VW GOLF VI TDI
ALGONQUIN, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 14000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

best for all weather condition's like the tire states

Tire Cons

price but you get whath you pay for.

my last set of Continental tires I got 60k before wearing them out but I upgraded to Z rated from H for the extra traction and handling
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

65 of 115 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

October 27, 2012
2010 VW JETTA V TDI SEDAN
SALT LAKE CITY, UT
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

People should rate these tires based on the tire performance and not the purchase experience. Do not compare all-season to summer tires. With this said, this is my second set with the first one getting me around for 54K miles before replacement (@ 3/32 thread wear) on mixed driving highway/city and all weather conditions dry, wet, and snow.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as