Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button
extremely

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Kumho Ecsta AST

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (44)   7.7

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (44 Total Reviews)

300 of 525 people found the following review helpful

  6.8

March 06, 2013
2009 VW RABBIT 2/4 DOOR
FORT WORTH, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 30000
Ride Comfort   6.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   1.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

Not bad for the price. Corner and handle well, wet or dry. Did just fine in the snow with a FWD car.

Tire Cons

Extremely loud.

These tires were loud when we bought them, and have progressively gotten louder. They're almost unbearable now, with right around 30,000 miles on them. We probably can squeeze another 10,000 out of them, so they've worn just fine. No abnormalities, just LOUD.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

53 of 93 people found the following review helpful

  8.2

September 03, 2014
2012 VW JETTA VI SEL SEDAN
Plano, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   7.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Got these at a deep discount so I'm assuming these are discontinued tires. But everything is good so far about these tires. Would buy Kumho again for sure.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

392 of 706 people found the following review helpful

  5.0

June 24, 2013
1997 LEXUS SC 400 COUPE
LAKESIDE, CA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   2.0
Ride Noise   6.0
Tread Life   2.0
Dry Traction   5.0
Wet Traction   7.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Soft sidewall. Smooth ride considering the profile. Worked really well in the rain.

Tire Cons

None Provided

Didn't last long during any type of agressive driving. For a good preformance or highway tire does not like concrete freeways. Gets stuck in the groves
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

87 of 159 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

August 11, 2014
2003 VW BEETLE TURBO S
Renton, WA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   7.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good value for the price.

Tire Cons

None that I have found.

For the price you can't go wrong. I've had these on my car for two years now and have no complaints.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

330 of 607 people found the following review helpful

  5.5

July 12, 2012
2001 AUDI TT COUPE FWD
ATLANTA, GA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 300
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   4.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life   6.0
Dry Traction   6.0
Wet Traction   4.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

cheap and reliable

Tire Cons

makes allot of noise when less traction is available. and skids quite often

the tyes are good but wears out quite fast
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

258 of 479 people found the following review helpful

  8.2

May 02, 2013
2003 VW GOLF IV GTI 1.8T
FREMONT, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort N/A
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great price, good looking thread, and grippy trackion.

Tire Cons

None so far

Highly recommended. Will definitely get it again
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

161 of 301 people found the following review helpful

  8.4

December 02, 2012

BEAVERTON, OR
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 100
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Great quality. Low cost. Little road noise. Great wet traction. Unique tread pattern.

Tire Cons

A tad on the stiff side.

These are my first 17" wheels and tires. On this car I have had 15", 16", 18", and 19"tires before this set. Tires before were Kumho MX, Kumho SPT, Admiral 712, Goodride, Michelin Energy, and Warriors. The ride on these tires is quiet compared to all tires I have had except the Nitto Motivos I had on my 19"s. Those tires were also more comfortable even though they were a 35 series. However these AST tires are better than the Motivos if you are going after handling. And they are cheaper. If you can afford more and only need summer tires I say go with the SPTs though. Overall awesome tire for the price from a company I trust.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

129 of 243 people found the following review helpful

  5.5

April 08, 2014
2010 VW JETTA V TDI SEDAN
CHARLESTON, SC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 years 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 30000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   3.0
Ride Noise   4.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   1.0
Winter Traction   1.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Great look and noise level. These tires were great for the price. Tread has held up surprisingly well.

Tire Cons

Slip in wet and cold conditions, not as sporty as they look.

Overall these tires were great for me, im not a track day guy and I dont push my car to the limit all that often. They have performed well over the life of the tire and the tread has worn well. They will slip going into a wet corner or a dry corner in the cold so be aware.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

324 of 616 people found the following review helpful

  9.6

July 13, 2012
2005 VW BEETLE CONVERTBLE
FLAGSTAFF, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

good tire

Tire Cons

found none yet

had to buy because other tires gut damaged
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

254 of 489 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

January 03, 2013
2004 VW JETTA IV GLI/GLS
KETCHUM, OK
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good looking tire, very affordable

Tire Cons

None so far

I was skeptical about such a cheap tire, normally run michelins, but these have been great. Second set of tires from DTD, they have a customer for life! Haven't had any problems but if I did I know they will take care of it!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Discount Tire CarCareONE Credit Card
©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as