Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Vincent
Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Kumho Ecsta AST

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (39)   7.6

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (39 Total Reviews)

208 of 354 people found the following review helpful

  6.8

March 06, 2013
2009 VW RABBIT 2/4 DOOR
FORT WORTH, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 30000
Ride Comfort   6.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   1.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

Not bad for the price. Corner and handle well, wet or dry. Did just fine in the snow with a FWD car.

Tire Cons

Extremely loud.

These tires were loud when we bought them, and have progressively gotten louder. They're almost unbearable now, with right around 30,000 miles on them. We probably can squeeze another 10,000 out of them, so they've worn just fine. No abnormalities, just LOUD.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

233 of 423 people found the following review helpful

  5.5

July 12, 2012
2001 AUDI TT COUPE FWD
ATLANTA, GA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 300
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   4.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life   6.0
Dry Traction   6.0
Wet Traction   4.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

cheap and reliable

Tire Cons

makes allot of noise when less traction is available. and skids quite often

the tyes are good but wears out quite fast
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

273 of 500 people found the following review helpful

  5.0

June 24, 2013
1997 LEXUS SC 400 COUPE
LAKESIDE, CA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   2.0
Ride Noise   6.0
Tread Life   2.0
Dry Traction   5.0
Wet Traction   7.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Soft sidewall. Smooth ride considering the profile. Worked really well in the rain.

Tire Cons

None Provided

Didn't last long during any type of agressive driving. For a good preformance or highway tire does not like concrete freeways. Gets stuck in the groves
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

55 of 102 people found the following review helpful

  5.5

April 08, 2014
2010 VW JETTA V TDI SEDAN
CHARLESTON, SC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 years 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 30000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   3.0
Ride Noise   4.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   1.0
Winter Traction   1.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Great look and noise level. These tires were great for the price. Tread has held up surprisingly well.

Tire Cons

Slip in wet and cold conditions, not as sporty as they look.

Overall these tires were great for me, im not a track day guy and I dont push my car to the limit all that often. They have performed well over the life of the tire and the tread has worn well. They will slip going into a wet corner or a dry corner in the cold so be aware.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

156 of 290 people found the following review helpful

  8.7

January 11, 2012
2008 SCION TC BASE
HOUSTON, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 7000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Smooth ride

Tire Cons

Little noise

No issues
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

159 of 299 people found the following review helpful

  8.2

May 02, 2013
2003 VW GOLF IV GTI 1.8T
FREMONT, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort N/A
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great price, good looking thread, and grippy trackion.

Tire Cons

None so far

Highly recommended. Will definitely get it again
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

223 of 427 people found the following review helpful

  9.6

July 13, 2012
2005 VW BEETLE CONVERTBLE
FLAGSTAFF, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

good tire

Tire Cons

found none yet

had to buy because other tires gut damaged
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

96 of 184 people found the following review helpful

  3.5

May 23, 2013
2008 VW GTI V 2/4-DOOR
LIVERMORE, ME
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 year
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   4.0
Cornering/Steering   6.0
Ride Noise   2.0
Tread Life   1.0
Dry Traction   6.0
Wet Traction   2.0
Winter Traction   1.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Great grip in dry conditions.

Tire Cons

Tread life sucks! Maybe got 8500 miles out of em. Uneven tread wear. Rainy conditions they tend to hydroplane easily.

Only got these cause the price was right.. Absolute junk tires got what i paid for. Maybe got 8500 miles out of them.. Good dry traction is its only pro. Uneven tread wear even though they were rotated an my car is completely tight an aligned perfect.. So back to hankook tires i go.. Would never buy again!!!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

76 of 146 people found the following review helpful

  8.4

December 02, 2012

BEAVERTON, OR
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 100
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Great quality. Low cost. Little road noise. Great wet traction. Unique tread pattern.

Tire Cons

A tad on the stiff side.

These are my first 17" wheels and tires. On this car I have had 15", 16", 18", and 19"tires before this set. Tires before were Kumho MX, Kumho SPT, Admiral 712, Goodride, Michelin Energy, and Warriors. The ride on these tires is quiet compared to all tires I have had except the Nitto Motivos I had on my 19"s. Those tires were also more comfortable even though they were a 35 series. However these AST tires are better than the Motivos if you are going after handling. And they are cheaper. If you can afford more and only need summer tires I say go with the SPTs though. Overall awesome tire for the price from a company I trust.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

170 of 328 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

January 03, 2013
2004 VW JETTA IV GLI/GLS
KETCHUM, OK
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good looking tire, very affordable

Tire Cons

None so far

I was skeptical about such a cheap tire, normally run michelins, but these have been great. Second set of tires from DTD, they have a customer for life! Haven't had any problems but if I did I know they will take care of it!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as