Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button
Lake

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (249)   9.1

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (249 Total Reviews)

30 of 42 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

April 26, 2014
2011 HONDA CR-V SE/EX/EX-L
NOBLESVILLE, IN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Handling, traction, ride

Tire Cons

None

These tires make the car handle so much better than tires that came on the CRV new.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

25 of 36 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

January 03, 2014
2011 HONDA CR-V SE/EX/EX-L
DOWNERS GROVE, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Noticed a different comfort ride right away and a considerable difference in handling as well.

Tire Cons

Havent seen any change in better fuel efficiency.

Definitely recommend this tires. Gave the tread life an 8 only because its been 7 months, too early too tell.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

60 of 87 people found the following review helpful

  9.4

March 11, 2013
2009 TOYOTA RAV4 LIMITED
APPLETON, WI
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Snow Traction Quiet ride Look nice on our RAV4

Tire Cons

None known at this time

I bought and installed the Defenders on our Toyota RAV4 just before our 2012-13 winter began here in Appleton, WI. It's been a very snowy winter with many opportunities to put these tires to the test (as an engineer, I can't help myself). I have not been disappointed! Great traction on slippery roads when accelerating, making turns and stopping. My wife drives this vehicle and it is my goal to have the best tires on her car for her drive to/from our country home. Again, the Defenders do not disappoint.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

30 of 44 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

May 08, 2014
2010 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN SXT
SAINT CHARLES, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

great handling and very quiet.

Tire Cons

the tires look like they have low tire pressure all the time. but they they have the proper pressure in them.

discount tire has been great, no hassles and the prices are fair. no matter what tire we have bought. and discout tire stands by the tire warranty. had to use it once.Thanks
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

22 of 33 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

August 27, 2013
2007 HONDA CR-V LX/EX/EX-L
RALEIGH, NC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I love these tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

12 of 18 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

March 05, 2014
2008 SATURN VUE XR
DALLAS, OR
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5500
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I feel confident this is a really good tire.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

September 08, 2014
2004 LEXUS RX 330 SUV FWD
Tyler, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7200
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   7.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

good
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

September 15, 2014
2008 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN SXT
Lake Villa, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

happy with tires
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

30 of 46 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

July 03, 2013
2010 HONDA CR-V LX/EX/EX-L
GIBSONVILLE, NC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 55000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Amazed at how smooth they have made my ride. Had heard that they could make a major difference, but did not realize just how much. I am a believer

Tire Cons

None Provided

Will be putting these on our other car. They are exceptional tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

83 of 128 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

November 22, 2012
2009 MERCURY MARINER PREMIER
MUSKEGON, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 3 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Best tires I've owned. These replaced Michelin Cross Terrains, these are far superior. Excellent tire so far.

Tire Cons

None. All tires should be this good!

Used on 2009 Mercury Mariner Premier AWD. Previous tires were Michelin Cross Terrains, but the Defender is far superior to those. Eliminated tar strip noise and "bobble head" ride. With Cross Terrains I needed to reduce air pressure to get a satisfactory ride in the short wheelbase Mariner, but Defenders are good right from the start with normal air pressure. By the looks of the tread, winter (Michigan) driving will be no problem. Spend the extra cash, don't be disappointed with a lesser tire (I did that once, regretted every mile)
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire