criticism
Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (102)   9.2

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (102 Total Reviews)

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

September 08, 2014
2010 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5I LIMITED
Albuquerque, NM
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 3 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet, fuel efficient

Tire Cons

cost

Previous to buying these tires, I studied the other reviews. I recorded MPG for 1400 miles prior to acquiring these tires and in mixed metro driving in desert SW, I got 26.7mpg. For the first 1000 miles with the new tires in similar driving conditions, the tally was 27 mpg.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

August 21, 2014
2005 TOYOTA SIENNA LE/XLE/LTD
Brooklyn, NY
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Very Good Tire
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

January 30, 2014
2011 NISSAN ROGUE SV
HARTFORD, AL
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 10 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 18000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

At once a sturdy and steady drive.

Tire Cons

Stiff riding at first but as they get broken in a very nice ride.

Very good tire would recommend to others .
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

March 01, 2014
2008 TOYOTA SIENNA LIMITED
TUCSON, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

we were in a massive rain storm in New Mexico for 45+ minutes on I=40. visibility very poor, big trucks everywhere and our car handled excellently. Very thankful for the new tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

16 of 22 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

November 19, 2013
2003 LINCOLN TOWN CAR P225/60R17
UTICA, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 20000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great tire, made in the USA, sold and serviced by Discount Tire. It's a win, win... win!

Tire Cons

None

I drive 35,000-40,000 miles per year. I have always been pleased with Michelin tires. Until now I would say the best series of tires I have ever purchased were the "X One" sets that I owned 12 years or so ago. I would say these look like they will be on par with those. Keep up the great work!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

20 of 28 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

December 08, 2013
2008 TOYOTA SIENNA LE/XLE
LUSBY, MD
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet ride. Great handling

Tire Cons

Price but you get what you pay for in my opinion

Tires ride superbly with absolutely road noise. The expected tread life on these tires is just ridiculous in my head so only time will tell if they can live up to the rating. I wouldnt settle for anything less than a michelin when outfitting my wifes van that carries out children around. You get what you pay for and these tires will make it worth it to spend the extra money.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

25 of 36 people found the following review helpful

  8.5

June 20, 2013
2010 TOYOTA SIENNA LE/XLE
NAPERVILLE, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   6.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Has held up great in rain, did well in snow. Holds it well when turning a corner.

Tire Cons

a bit nosier then I had anticipated

Have had these on for about 3,000 miles and they have held their own. We had some snowy weather and they held up to that well enough. They have handled the rain that we had recently excellently. They do hold nice when making a turn. They are a bit nosier then I had anticipated. I have used Michelin's as the first replacement set on all my cars that did not come with them as OEM and have been really pleased. I would purchase these again and would recommend them even with the noise.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

29 of 42 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

November 12, 2013
2010 SUBARU OUTBACK 3.6R ALL
GOLDEN, CO
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

great tires

Tire Cons

none

These are great tires. They made all the difference when driving our Subaru.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

15 of 22 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

November 06, 2013
2006 LINCOLN TOWN CAR SIGNATURE
FORT WORTH, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Everything

Tire Cons

None

Very smooth, very quiet ride. Excellent grip. Highly pleased. Wish I had bought them sooner!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

20 of 30 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

October 05, 2013
2013 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5I PREMIUM
MOSES LAKE, WA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4700
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Much quieter than the original tires

Tire Cons

none

Purchased the Subaru new. Did not like the noisy tires it came with. Replaced them with the Michelins after less than 1000 miles. The difference is like pushing the mute button.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as