Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

conservative
Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (125)   9.2

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (125 Total Reviews)

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

October 11, 2014
2011 SUBARU OUTBACK 3.6R ALL
Colorado Springs, CO
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2500
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Good handling

Tire Cons

A little noisy

Looking forward to see how they handle ice/snow
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

November 24, 2014
2011 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5I LIMITED
Etowah, NC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Still too early for a complete evaluation. Waited on this review for a trip from NC to NY during the big snow event. Thanks to NY and their superb snow removal we had nothing but wet roads on the Thruway I 90 through Erie, Pa, Hamburg, NY and Lancaster, NY. My son who lives in Lancaster had his Defender's on last winter with a Subaru Outback, he says they performed excellent.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

October 25, 2014
2007 TOYOTA SIENNA LE/XLE/LTD
Oklahoma City, OK
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet smooth ride.

Tire Cons

Very Expensive

Very good tires so far.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

October 02, 2014
2011 NISSAN ROGUE SV
Texas City, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

drove to Yellowstone after purchased tires. No problem even snow. only problem was with dealer in Texas city store try to sell me a snow tire. had issues with them before. I shop other discount stores..
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

November 11, 2014
2012 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5I LIMITED
Grove City, OH
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Quite ride and good handing tire

Tire Cons

Gas milage isn't as good with these tires as I thought.

Overall a good tire.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

September 13, 2014
2010 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5I LIMITED
Clovis, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Tne new Defender seems to be as good as the LTX, which has given superior performance and life on three different applications.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

September 08, 2014
2010 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5I LIMITED
Albuquerque, NM
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 3 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet, fuel efficient

Tire Cons

cost

Previous to buying these tires, I studied the other reviews. I recorded MPG for 1400 miles prior to acquiring these tires and in mixed metro driving in desert SW, I got 26.7mpg. For the first 1000 miles with the new tires in similar driving conditions, the tally was 27 mpg.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

September 27, 2014
2011 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5I LIMITED
Gig Harbor, WA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I felt an immediate improvement in handling and road noise over the oem tires. An Outback will never be truly quiet but these tires are definitely an improvement. Highly recommend these tires and Discount honored their best price match for me.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

December 23, 2013
2008 TOYOTA SIENNA LE/XLE
SILVER POINT, TN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great ride, quite, smooth.

Tire Cons

Pricey

Best tires I have ever had
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

April 03, 2014
2011 NISSAN ROGUE SV
OLD HICKORY, TN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 15000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet, comfort

Tire Cons

expensive

Love it
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire