Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button
Charlie

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (45)   8.9

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (45 Total Reviews)

60 of 87 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

April 02, 2014
2010 SUBARU FORESTER 2.5X LIMITED
PORTLAND, OR
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

The tires are the best. Especially in wet weather. Good traction, car handles corners well...just love em!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

September 15, 2014
2011 CHEVROLET IMPALA LS
Warren, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

I like these tires and how they preform in all kinds of driving experiences I have had with them so far.

Tire Cons

I really don't have any at this time.

Great tire(s), Great service, Great dealer.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

  8.5

October 20, 2014
2004 CHRYSLER 300M SEDAN
Gary, IN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

There is a persistent air leak on one tire and it hasn't been found. Took in for repair and was told no leak found. Loses about 1/2 pound per day. Not sure if this is a tire or dealership installation issue. It's extremely frustrating to have to keep adding air every week.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

80 of 123 people found the following review helpful

  7.7

April 04, 2013
2004 NISSAN MAXIMA 3.5 SL
PASADENA, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   1.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

We put these on my wife's 2004 Nissan maxima. I also but them on my crown Victoria. The maxima tire is a significantly lower profile than on the Vic. On the Vic I will stick with these tires and they are excellent for the driving I do which does include very aggressive driving to my local volunteer fire department for emergency calls. On the nissan its a different story!! All is well except for the noise! This is the loudest tire I have ever heard on a car. From inside the cab it sounds like a jacked up jeep with oversized tires is riding next to me. The tire does well in any other category as described and the warranty is hard to beat but due to the noise I would never put these tires on in a low profile situation.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

37 of 59 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

December 04, 2013
2011 SUBARU FORESTER 2.5X PREMIUM
FENTON, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None

Tire Cons

None

None
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

47 of 80 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

October 04, 2013
2007 CHEVROLET MONTECARLO LT
REDFORD, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 15095
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

so far, very satisfied with these tires
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

72 of 124 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

January 09, 2013
2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU LT
CHARLOTTE, NC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 15000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Ride comfort, handling, no noise at this time.

Tire Cons

They are expensive. I will have to drive them more miles to make a judgement on these tires as to dollars verses wear, mileage, and handling.

Seems to be an excellent tire meeting all of my expectations at this time with limited mileage on them.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

33 of 58 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

October 12, 2013
2006 PONTIAC GRAND PRIX GT
PRINCETON, MO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I didn't realized how noisy my old tires were until I got my Michelins! They are so quiet and very smooth driving.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

17 of 30 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

June 17, 2014
2011 HYUNDAI GENESIS SEDAN 3.8
Beaverton, OR
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6100
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Nice ride comfort and quietness. Good braking response on wet and dry surfaces. Seems to be wearing fine.

Tire Cons

None as of now.

These tires were not inexpensive but to date money well spent in terms of ride, quietness,safety, and wear. I bought my 2011 Hyundai 3.8L sedan as a used vehicle in April 2012 with 25,000 miles on it from Enterprise Rentals.The car came with new Trazano SA-05 tires warranted for 40K miles. The car rode rough and noisy with the tires so I took a chance and dumped the tires at 20,000 miles (little wear) and purchased these Michelin tires hoping for an improvement. The difference in performance in terms of sound and ride was immediately noticeable. The car still rides rough on rough pavement but I believe that is the result of the sporty suspension and not the tire. I hate to think of what I would experience in terms of noise and ride if I still had the old tires....annoying.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

54 of 96 people found the following review helpful

  4.8

April 16, 2013
2005 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5XT
TRAVERSE CITY, MI
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 400
Ride Comfort   4.0
Cornering/Steering   4.0
Ride Noise   4.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   4.0
Winter Traction   2.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Discount Tire was wonderful in replacing the tires.

Tire Cons

Tires felt like they were rolling side to side in the winter weather. Felt like poor traction.

Tires were loud, worked ok when the road was dry but any snow at all made it feel like the tires were swaying side to side. Slid at stops, poor traction. For a summer tire they would be fine but not in the winter.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire