Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (52)   9.0

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (52 Total Reviews)

107 of 136 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

April 02, 2014
2010 SUBARU FORESTER 2.5X LIMITED
PORTLAND, OR
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

The tires are the best. Especially in wet weather. Good traction, car handles corners well...just love em!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

November 20, 2014
1995 MERCEDES BENZ S320 140 CHASIS
Apple Valley, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7700
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Very pleased

Tire Cons

none

Purchased these prior to a 5,500 mile round trip to Michigan. Excellent performance, and then, while in Michigan, I visited "Discount Tires" (parent company) and was treated to superb customer service. I'm recommending you to all of my friends. Bill Yates - Apple Valley, Ca.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

15 of 22 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

September 26, 2014
2008 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5XT LMTD
Munster, IN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Everything I had hoped for.

Tire Cons

None for 3000 miles.

My previous tires were Michelin MXM4 and I did get 67,000 miles on them (mostly highway miles). They were a comfort tire but I decided to try the Defenders for the higher mileage. So far I have driven in heat/sun, hail, and severe thunderstorms with them. They are quiet, handle corners well, brake snugly and dealt with the weather changes without any concerns. I do not notice a significant difference in the comfort of the ride on the same vehicle(2008 Subaru Outback).
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

88 of 135 people found the following review helpful

  7.7

April 04, 2013
2004 NISSAN MAXIMA 3.5 SL
PASADENA, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   1.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

We put these on my wife's 2004 Nissan maxima. I also but them on my crown Victoria. The maxima tire is a significantly lower profile than on the Vic. On the Vic I will stick with these tires and they are excellent for the driving I do which does include very aggressive driving to my local volunteer fire department for emergency calls. On the nissan its a different story!! All is well except for the noise! This is the loudest tire I have ever heard on a car. From inside the cab it sounds like a jacked up jeep with oversized tires is riding next to me. The tire does well in any other category as described and the warranty is hard to beat but due to the noise I would never put these tires on in a low profile situation.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

40 of 63 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

December 04, 2013
2011 SUBARU FORESTER 2.5X PREMIUM
FENTON, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None

Tire Cons

None

None
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

10 of 16 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

September 15, 2014
2011 CHEVROLET IMPALA LS
Warren, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

I like these tires and how they preform in all kinds of driving experiences I have had with them so far.

Tire Cons

I really don't have any at this time.

Great tire(s), Great service, Great dealer.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

  8.5

October 20, 2014
2004 CHRYSLER 300M SEDAN
Gary, IN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

There is a persistent air leak on one tire and it hasn't been found. Took in for repair and was told no leak found. Loses about 1/2 pound per day. Not sure if this is a tire or dealership installation issue. It's extremely frustrating to have to keep adding air every week.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

  6.8

October 26, 2014
2012 DODGE AVENGER SE
Saint Paul, MN
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   1.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

I had a flat tire already and it wasnt a nail that did it either

I was very disappointed to have a tire leak a month after i got the tires
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

50 of 84 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

October 04, 2013
2007 CHEVROLET MONTECARLO LT
REDFORD, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 15095
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

so far, very satisfied with these tires
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

16 of 27 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

March 26, 2014
2008 NISSAN MAXIMA 3.5 SL
SAINT PAUL, MN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Very happy with the tires and really pleased with their winter performance.

Tire Cons

None Provided

Was a little leery switching from Goodyear assurance tires. I would rate these as good or better. I real good value. Your people have always lead my family to great tire deals.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Discount Tire CarCareONE Credit Card
©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as