Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (37)   8.9

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (37 Total Reviews)

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

June 04, 2014
2010 CHRYSLER SEBRING LIMITD SDN
SAINT PAUL, MN
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great tread

Tire Cons

Not snow tires but they do the job

Great overall tire
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

20 of 28 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

April 02, 2014
2010 SUBARU FORESTER 2.5X LIMITED
PORTLAND, OR
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

The tires are the best. Especially in wet weather. Good traction, car handles corners well...just love em!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

49 of 77 people found the following review helpful

  7.7

April 04, 2013
2004 NISSAN MAXIMA 3.5 SL
PASADENA, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   1.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

We put these on my wife's 2004 Nissan maxima. I also but them on my crown Victoria. The maxima tire is a significantly lower profile than on the Vic. On the Vic I will stick with these tires and they are excellent for the driving I do which does include very aggressive driving to my local volunteer fire department for emergency calls. On the nissan its a different story!! All is well except for the noise! This is the loudest tire I have ever heard on a car. From inside the cab it sounds like a jacked up jeep with oversized tires is riding next to me. The tire does well in any other category as described and the warranty is hard to beat but due to the noise I would never put these tires on in a low profile situation.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

18 of 31 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

December 04, 2013
2011 SUBARU FORESTER 2.5X PREMIUM
FENTON, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None

Tire Cons

None

None
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

43 of 75 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

January 09, 2013
2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU LT
CHARLOTTE, NC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 15000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Ride comfort, handling, no noise at this time.

Tire Cons

They are expensive. I will have to drive them more miles to make a judgement on these tires as to dollars verses wear, mileage, and handling.

Seems to be an excellent tire meeting all of my expectations at this time with limited mileage on them.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

12 of 21 people found the following review helpful

  7.7

November 21, 2013
2006 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5XT
STATESVILLE, NC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   4.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Rides and handles very well

Tire Cons

A little noisier than I expected and wanted

Overall I feel I made the right choice. The tires ride and handle very well, the only thing that might change my mind about repurchasing would be the total tread life.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

March 05, 2014
2008 INFINITI G35 SPORTSEDAN
EDGEWOOD, NM
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 9500
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Handling in all kinds of weather.

Tire Cons

A bit of road noise

Much improvement over previous Michelins as to tread wear. Excellent handling tire. Live in mountains with winter snow and ice, no problems at all with the tires in AWD mode.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

37 of 65 people found the following review helpful

  4.8

April 16, 2013
2005 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5XT
TRAVERSE CITY, MI
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 400
Ride Comfort   4.0
Cornering/Steering   4.0
Ride Noise   4.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   4.0
Winter Traction   2.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Discount Tire was wonderful in replacing the tires.

Tire Cons

Tires felt like they were rolling side to side in the winter weather. Felt like poor traction.

Tires were loud, worked ok when the road was dry but any snow at all made it feel like the tires were swaying side to side. Slid at stops, poor traction. For a summer tire they would be fine but not in the winter.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

43 of 76 people found the following review helpful

  9.6

December 23, 2012
2001 CHRYSLER LHS SEDAN
BEND, OR
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 100
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet, Comfortable and is superior in Rain, Snow and Ice traction than all other all season tires. 90,000 mile warranty!

Tire Cons

The Cost, but who am I kidding...If you want an excellent tire, you pay the excellent tire price.

I was told by my dad to buy michelin tires because they are the best. Today I can say that I AM a believer! Michelin has made me a customer for life. These tires are quiet, smooth AND they have provided EXCELLENT traction in Snow and Ice. I will never go back to any other manufacturer. I didn't even realize my car could feel this nice riding down the road until I bought my first set of Michelin Tires. If you are looking for the BEST all season tire, look no further than the Michelin Defender Tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

26 of 46 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

October 04, 2013
2007 CHEVROLET MONTECARLO LT
REDFORD, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 15095
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

so far, very satisfied with these tires
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as