Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

successes
Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (34)   9.0

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (34 Total Reviews)

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

February 26, 2014
2005 SUBARU OUTBACK 3.0R
SALT LAKE CITY, UT
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet tires with stable traction in snow

Tire Cons

None Provided

I drive up/down LCC regularly in winter and these tires do great. Always feel comfortable and confident in inclement weather, and are also very quiet at freeway speeds. Great tire and value. Would definitely buy again.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

37 of 60 people found the following review helpful

  7.7

April 04, 2013
2004 NISSAN MAXIMA 3.5 SL
PASADENA, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   1.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

We put these on my wife's 2004 Nissan maxima. I also but them on my crown Victoria. The maxima tire is a significantly lower profile than on the Vic. On the Vic I will stick with these tires and they are excellent for the driving I do which does include very aggressive driving to my local volunteer fire department for emergency calls. On the nissan its a different story!! All is well except for the noise! This is the loudest tire I have ever heard on a car. From inside the cab it sounds like a jacked up jeep with oversized tires is riding next to me. The tire does well in any other category as described and the warranty is hard to beat but due to the noise I would never put these tires on in a low profile situation.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

36 of 61 people found the following review helpful

  9.6

December 23, 2012
2001 CHRYSLER LHS SEDAN
BEND, OR
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 100
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet, Comfortable and is superior in Rain, Snow and Ice traction than all other all season tires. 90,000 mile warranty!

Tire Cons

The Cost, but who am I kidding...If you want an excellent tire, you pay the excellent tire price.

I was told by my dad to buy michelin tires because they are the best. Today I can say that I AM a believer! Michelin has made me a customer for life. These tires are quiet, smooth AND they have provided EXCELLENT traction in Snow and Ice. I will never go back to any other manufacturer. I didn't even realize my car could feel this nice riding down the road until I bought my first set of Michelin Tires. If you are looking for the BEST all season tire, look no further than the Michelin Defender Tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

33 of 56 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

January 09, 2013
2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU LT
CHARLOTTE, NC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 15000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Ride comfort, handling, no noise at this time.

Tire Cons

They are expensive. I will have to drive them more miles to make a judgement on these tires as to dollars verses wear, mileage, and handling.

Seems to be an excellent tire meeting all of my expectations at this time with limited mileage on them.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

19 of 33 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

August 16, 2013
2008 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5I
CARLSBAD, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

So far so good. They are a great set of tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

27 of 48 people found the following review helpful

  4.8

April 16, 2013
2005 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5XT
TRAVERSE CITY, MI
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 400
Ride Comfort   4.0
Cornering/Steering   4.0
Ride Noise   4.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   4.0
Winter Traction   2.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Discount Tire was wonderful in replacing the tires.

Tire Cons

Tires felt like they were rolling side to side in the winter weather. Felt like poor traction.

Tires were loud, worked ok when the road was dry but any snow at all made it feel like the tires were swaying side to side. Slid at stops, poor traction. For a summer tire they would be fine but not in the winter.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

16 of 29 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

October 04, 2013
2007 CHEVROLET MONTECARLO LT
REDFORD, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 15095
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

so far, very satisfied with these tires
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

7 of 13 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

December 04, 2013
2011 SUBARU FORESTER 2.5X PREMIUM
FENTON, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None

Tire Cons

None

None
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

36 of 67 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

March 27, 2013
2007 INFINITI G35 SEDAN
FRANKLIN, TN
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1500
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Tire is very responsive and can tell improved traction from still acceleration.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

26 of 52 people found the following review helpful

  9.6

January 24, 2013
2010 SUBARU FORESTER 2.5XT PREMIUM
LAKE ANN, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Have always been pleased with Michelin tires and will continue to purchase them for both my vehicles.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as