Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Primacy MXV4

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (17)   9.2

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (17 Total Reviews)

20 of 33 people found the following review helpful

  8.2

June 25, 2014
2010 SUBARU FORESTER 2.5X LIMITED
Fort Collins, CO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   6.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Goes and stops well in snow and wet conditions

Tire Cons

Very noticeable road noise and slight tread-caused vibration inside vehicle

We've used these for about six months through the worst of the winter and into summer here in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. We're happy with the traction in bad conditions and can't discern any loss of traction in dry conditions for starting, cornering and stopping. OTOH, the Subie Forester isn't heavily noise-isolated, so YMMV on noise from the aggressive treads, but for us it is noticeable. Had one side-wall failure and Discount charged me $80 to replace the tire -- I think that the manufacturer should have paid for this, but who can fight when you need to get back on the road.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

84 of 151 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

July 11, 2012
2005 LEXUS LS 430 BASE
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

excellent tire
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

20 of 36 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

July 22, 2014
2008 NISSAN MAXIMA 3.5 SL
Highlands Ranch, CO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I had almost forgotten how much difference a good tire can make until I went from my old, worn out tires to these. In the snow and ice it was like I had gone from two wheel drive to four wheel drive, but in a front wheel drive car!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

54 of 101 people found the following review helpful

  7.7

June 11, 2012
2006 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5I
MANTON, MI
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 3 years 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 45500
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   4.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Great tire when new. Excellent in very wet conditions. Initially very good winter traction. At 45,000 miles there is 50% of the tread left.

Tire Cons

Clump, Clump sound on road seams. Winter (icy) traction has virtually disappeared with 1/2 the tread left.

An excellent all around tire for dry roads. When new it performed well in all conditions including snow and ice. However, with 1/2 the tread remaining traction on slippery roads requires extra caution. The tread cuts don't go full depth. I loved the tires when new -- best tires I've ever had with possible exception of the original Michelin X. However, performance overall has recently deterioriated to where I'll need to replace them before next winter.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

74 of 141 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

January 16, 2013
2009 TOYOTA CAMRY SE
CARLSBAD, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I achieved 82,000 miles on my last set of Michelins and I have every reason to believe that the new set will provide simiar miles of driving
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

73 of 140 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

May 04, 2013
2008 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5XT LMTD
PORTLAND, OR
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   6.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great tires!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

78 of 151 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

July 11, 2012
2007 FORD 500 SEL
COLUMBUS, OH
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great tire ! Worth the extra $.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

63 of 124 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

December 22, 2012
2009 SUBARU OUTBACK 2.5I LIMITED
SEATTLE, WA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7500
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   4.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Drove over Steven's Pass with snow on the road. A very stabile ride.

Tire Cons

Non so far.

I am a retired Greyhound driver. Tires are an extremely important issue with me. The selection of this tire is a good investment. I'll have the whole winter to test them and see how they perform over the passes we have her. They seem to have exceptional stability in the snow and I get good performance in some icy conditions. The combination of a Subaru Outback and the tires make for a GREAT fit.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

66 of 132 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

June 01, 2012
2005 SUBARU OUTBACK 3.0R
PARKER, CO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 45000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

quiet comfortable ride

Tire Cons

cost a bit more

great tire for my sedan. quiet ride. absorbed the bumps for a comfortable ride. felt good traction in wet & snow. just bought my second set.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

14 of 28 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

July 11, 2014
2004 LEXUS LS 430 BASE
San Diego, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 100
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Smooth Quiet Stable

Tire Cons

Cost more than most

NOTE: Although I just put new MXV4s on the car, we've put over 60,000 miles on the car since buying it CPO, all on MXV4s. These are the original equipment tires for this car; in short the tires that best match the suspension. Yes, you can get other "best" tires for less but they will degrade exactly exactly those qualities that you buy a Lexus LS model for: ultra quiet, smooth riding and very stable handling when "touring". IMHO, well worth the extra cost (amounts to about an extra $30 to 40 a year). I did try other tires this time. Noticeable degradation in all aspects of ride: quiet, smooth and stable. Gladly paid the extra money after 200 unpleasant miles on the "others".
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire