Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (40)   9.4

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (40 Total Reviews)

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

September 18, 2014
2003 CADILLAC DEVILLE DTS
Leander, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

great ride smooth performance

Tire Cons

none

great price friendly and professional service
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

  5.2

October 28, 2014
2007 HYUNDAI AZERA LIMITED
Sherman, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 year 8 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 25000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   5.0
Tread Life   1.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   1.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Bought this tire because of the assumed quality and 90k warranty. Initially I love the handling and ride of the tires. At 25k miles the tread is gone and must be replaced.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

35 of 46 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

September 26, 2013
2004 FORD CROWN VIC LX SPORT
CHEBOYGAN, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 9000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Never hydroplane, Excellent treadlife

Tire Cons

Mushy ride, cornering & steering

After 9,000 miles they show absolutely no wear. I've driven on many wet roads and have yet to experience any hydroplaning. Though I live in Northern Michigan, I haven't driven them yet in winter weather. My defenders are P235/55R17, which I beleive is the biggest size they make. They are installed on a Frord Crown Victoria, which is a very large, heavy, full-frame vehicle. In this application, they produce a mushy ride and especially mushy when cornering. I suspect that this would not be a problem on a smaller, lighter vehicle.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

February 25, 2014
2009 BUICK LUCERNE CXL
MISSION, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

i have no problems at all.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

35 of 51 people found the following review helpful

  9.6

November 11, 2013
2008 BUICK LUCERNE CXL
TYRONE, PA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

So far very impressed with the Defender tire.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

14 of 22 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

April 23, 2014
2009 BUICK LUCERNE CXL
ROMULUS, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

There was great improvement in the drive on wet conditions with these new tires.

Tire Cons

None Provided

We would buy these tires again and love the service we recieve at Discount tires.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

47 of 76 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

March 01, 2013
2007 CADILLAC DTS LUXURY
LUDINGTON, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

great ride

Tire Cons

none

overall great tire
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

48 of 80 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

April 25, 2013
2008 CADILLAC CTS 3.6L
ODESSA, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

I've always liked Michelin tires.

Tire Cons

None Provided

As long as I can afford them I will always have Michelin tires on my cars. I bought my first set in 1975. They were great then and my opinion hasn't changed.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

  8.0

April 15, 2014
2008 ACURA RL ALL
CHESTERTON, IN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 15000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

good

Tire Cons

not durable

decent
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

50 of 84 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

June 17, 2013
2007 BUICK LUCERNE CXL V6
ANOKA, MN
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great tires, I have received superior and timely service for my Lucerne! I have dealt with this location berfore and will continue to do business there.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire