Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

BFGoodrich Rugged Terrain T/A

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (12)   8.2

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (12 Total Reviews)

50 of 84 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

May 29, 2013
2005 TOYOTA 4 RUNNER SR5 17INCH
KENNETT SQUARE, PA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Excellent value for price paid. Aggressive Tread. Great Handling in all conditions.

Tire Cons

Gas mileage dropped 1-2 mpg vs. the Continentals that were replaced.

Compared to the Michelins I was considering, I think I sacrificed only slightly in overall performance at a significant savings. These are great so far on the 4Runner. Snow handling was great this winter when the tires were new. Didn't need 4WD as much as I thought I would. Wet and dry handling are great. I haven't noticed any sort of trouble. The tires are a little louder at low speeds but fine for me on the highway. I recently pulled a stump on wet grass and the tires didn't slip at all. I love the tread, though I'm sure the aggressive tread pattern contributes to the increased road noise as well as a slight drop in fuel efficiency. Overall these tires are a great value and I'm glad I purchased them. Depending on how long they last I may purchase another set.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

60 of 105 people found the following review helpful

  7.0

January 29, 2013
2002 NISSAN FRONTIER KING CAB
COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 1000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering N/A
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   7.0
Wet Traction   5.0
Winter Traction   1.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

The tires have a garrantee

Tire Cons

Utterly useless for any kind of snow.

Extremely dissapointed. What a waste of money. These tires perform just as badly in snow as the worn tires I just replaced (which used to be amazing). Its only snowed twice since i bought them. They're so bad i can bareley pull off from a traffic light at a flat intersection. The first time , I thought it must be icy. This morning, it was fresh snow, 27 degrees, no ice, no traction. In the interests of survival, I'm going to try to return them.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

53 of 95 people found the following review helpful

  8.2

July 11, 2012
2005 TOYOTA 4 RUNNER SPORT
SCOTTSDALE, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   6.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

This is a solid tire. There was a break-in period of +/-3k miles; but, since then they have been just fine, no complaints.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

56 of 101 people found the following review helpful

  7.8

July 12, 2012
2004 FORD EXPLORER LIMITED
DEL RIO, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 19137
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good traction, great off road and on unimproved roads and no noise on highway for this aggressive tread

Tire Cons

None Provided

I have been running Michelin tires and the sales man suggested this tire and I have had as good a luck with the Goodrich as I have had with the Michelin. I like this tire better,on off road than the michelin. Great tires and a lot better price than what I have been driving.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

64 of 119 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

July 12, 2012
2005 TOYOTA TUNDRA DOUBLE CAB
HULL, GA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 4500
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Very good tire but a bit pricey

Tire Cons

After riding on them for a while they begin to become out of balance.

I like these tires and will more than likely buy them again because I love the look and also like the over all performance.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

65 of 121 people found the following review helpful

  8.5

April 09, 2013
2007 TOYOTA 4 RUNNER SPORT
COSTA MESA, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

BFG nuf said

Tire Cons

NA

Great tire and great service as usual at AT
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

62 of 124 people found the following review helpful

  6.0

September 27, 2012
2012 TOYOTA TACOMA PRERUNNER
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3500
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   4.0
Ride Noise   4.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   6.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Look good

Tire Cons

Terrible cornering and steering

Bought these tires with a set of black rhino rims from DT in July. Had to have them replaced twice because they would not balance. DT was good about it, they swapped them out for a set of Hancook Dynapros today and I'm sorry to say it, but the hancooks are better hands down. The BFGs rolled a lot on corners and my steering always felt very mushy. My truck only has 3500 miles so I could tell it was the tires. The hancooks feel so much more stable, good tire, I should have bought it the first time around buck I got sucked into the BFGS are better bandwagon. Also the hancooks are very aggressive, but a lot quieter than the rugged terrains. Matter of fact, I had a set of BFG ATs on my last truck (Tundra) and the Rugged Terrains were even louder than those. I really thought the new rugged terrains were the next good thing from BF Goodrich, but I was sorely disappointed.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

55 of 114 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

April 06, 2013
2004 TOYOTA 4 RUNNER SR5 17INCH
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great looking tire!

Tire Cons

BFG are pricey.

Look good, feel good, handle good and sound quiet. No complaints.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

50 of 105 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

January 15, 2013
2009 TOYOTA TACOMA PRERUNNER
FORT KNOX, KY
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great tire. Felt the difference the first day I had them.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

41 of 87 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

May 01, 2013
2008 TOYOTA 4 RUNNER SPORT
PLANO, TX
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 9000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Replaced Bridgestone Dueler A/T's with these BFG Rugged Terrain's because I didn't want to spend the extra $$ for the Dueler's this time. So far the BFG's ride and look great.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as