Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Continental ExtremeContact DWS

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (27)   8.7

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (27 Total Reviews)

40 of 70 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

July 06, 2014
2012 HYUNDAI SONATA SE
Sterling, CO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great traction!

Tire Cons

None

So much better than the Hankook that come on the car! Really glad I made this purchase in the middle of a snowstorm in January!!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

122 of 218 people found the following review helpful

  6.2

September 26, 2012
2001 ACURA 3.2CL-S COUPE
NAPERVILLE, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 3 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 40000
Ride Comfort   1.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   1.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

As someone that has always enjoyed a Continental tire, it is difficult for me to write this review, but this needs to be said. I did a lot of research prior to purchasing the Extreme Contact DWS so that I could hopefully avoid the same poor experiences I have had with other tires getting extremely noisy as time went on. I was absolutely in love with this tire when they were fresh on my car, they were incredibly quiet, super comfortable, they handled well, and the traction was perfect for unpredictable Chicago weather. Then they started to get a little noisy and ride rough. And now, at 40,000 miles, they still have a decent amount of treadlife remaining, but they are so unbelievably loud that I cannot stand to keep them on my car until they would need to be replaced based on remaining tread. From inside the car, it literally sounds like you are riding on big nobby off road mud tires! If you have any desire to keep a tire on your car for more than 2 years, stay far far away from this tire.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

100 of 180 people found the following review helpful

  8.4

February 25, 2012
2004 TOYOTA SOLARA 6CY SE/SLE
THOMASVILLE, NC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 40000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   6.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   7.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Very comfortable ride. low noise, good handler.

Tire Cons

none

This is the absolute best high performance tire I have ever had experience with. I have tried other brands. Hands down this is the best. The last set of tires I had(generals) I could not wait to get new ones because the tire's noise level had increased to where it was just bearable.thee continental's noise has increased with 40000 miles on them but there is less noise than the general's had when they were new. from the looks of them I think they will last the 60000 miles that that they were guaranteed. I will purchase another set.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

116 of 210 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

January 14, 2012
1999 HONDA ACCORD V6
MCDONOUGH, GA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 1 year
Miles Driven on Tires: 18000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I like the handling of the tire. They are also very quite and perform great in wet weather.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

133 of 241 people found the following review helpful

  2.8

October 25, 2012
2010 FORD FUSION SPORT
ROMEOVILLE, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 250
Ride Comfort   1.0
Cornering/Steering   3.0
Ride Noise   1.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   5.0
Wet Traction   4.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

N/A

Tire Cons

Extremely noisy brand new Runout unacceptable

I bought these tires because of the great reviews, replacing the OEM Good Year Eagle RSA's on my car. I was immediately disappointed in the amount of noise and vibration that these tires produced. My car is only 2 years old, all 4 rims are true, no suspension issues, recent alignment, and did not have this issue prior to installing these tires. Out of curiosity that there may have been a mistake made when they were balanced, I had the balance rechecked 4 days after they were installed. Although minor corrections were made, the vibration and terrible noise remained. I later put the car on jacks, spun them by hand and noticed how out of round these tires were. I'm thankful that Discount has a no haggle 30 day return policy as these are going back immediately and will get a new set of the OEM tires. The guys in Discount were helpful in getting the replacement setup, so that was a plus.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

127 of 233 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

July 05, 2012
2004 MAZDA RX-8 6-SPEED
GASTONIA, NC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 9 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

great tire for almost half the price of others I looked at. great performance tires....
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

96 of 178 people found the following review helpful

  9.3

January 29, 2013
2011 HYUNDAI SONATA SE
MANTECA, CA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Very quiet compared to OEM and handle exceptionally well in wet conditions.

Tire Cons

None Provided

I was between the Michelin MXV4 and these and am glad I chose the extreme contact dws. These tires have exceeded my expectations for a high performance all season tire. They are affordable, quiet, have good traction and temp ratings, have excellent tread life, a pretty high speed rating, and blow other tires twice their price out of the water. This tire would be at home on anything from a Corvette ZO6 to a Toyota Corolla. Get them while they are still in production, have a feeling they wont be around for too long. Oh and I've put nearly 10K on them and they still look new.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

121 of 230 people found the following review helpful

  8.0

September 11, 2012
2011 HYUNDAI SONATA LIMITED
ATLANTA, GA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Great wet traction on the highway

Tire Cons

A little softer than OEM and a little noiser.

I will be honest I am not sure how to rate a new tire to a tire with 41000 mile on it. The OEM hankok was a great tire and lastested longer than I thought it would. Its only drawback was driving on the highway in the rain. "NOT GOOD" The Contacts are good. After some initial balanceing issues they are now fairly smooth. Wet traction at highway speads is greatly improved but cornering, noise, milage and ride, are the same or a little worse especially the responsivness. It feels floatyer on the highway but at the same time does not seam to soak up the pot holes as well. A little worried about the rims. I am sure if you need a light snow/all season tire this tire is great. Since I see very little snow i will give it a thumbes up but have had better on other cars. The big test will be to see if I get the same or better milage.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

43 of 82 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

March 03, 2014
2011 MINI COOPER COUNTRYMAN
BELMONT, NC
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Excellent replacement for original run flat tires!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

72 of 138 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

November 23, 2013
2005 NISSAN ALTIMA SE-R
LAS VEGAS, NV
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 3 years 2 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 53000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I have continentals on my other veh. Great tread life,Ride noise increases as tire gets older.traction is very good on wet-snow-dry
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as