Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

petitioner
Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Continental ExtremeContact DWS

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (23)   8.6

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (23 Total Reviews)

35 of 58 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

September 10, 2013
2008 TOYOTA CAMRY SE
AUBURN, WA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

great tires, quite and good tractoon
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

7 of 12 people found the following review helpful

  8.2

January 29, 2014
2004 NISSAN 350Z COUPE PERFORMANC
EDMOND, OK
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 year
Miles Driven on Tires: 10000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   7.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Very quiet ride excellent tread ware.

Tire Cons

A little softer side wall than I was used to. Noticeable on fast hard cornering.

The first thing I noticed was how quiet they were. 350Zs tend to transmit tire noise and there was none. At 10,000 miles they are still quiet. I drive spiritedly and I have gotten used to the sidewall solfness. If was going to autocross again I would have a different set for that purpose.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

22 of 38 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

November 23, 2013
2005 NISSAN ALTIMA SE-R
LAS VEGAS, NV
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 3 years 2 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 53000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I have continentals on my other veh. Great tread life,Ride noise increases as tire gets older.traction is very good on wet-snow-dry
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

54 of 94 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

January 14, 2012
1999 HONDA ACCORD V6
MCDONOUGH, GA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly City
Owned Tires for: 1 year
Miles Driven on Tires: 18000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I like the handling of the tire. They are also very quite and perform great in wet weather.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

27 of 47 people found the following review helpful

  9.6

April 11, 2013
2005 CADILLAC CTS SPORT PKG
SIOUX FALLS, SD
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 1500
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great tires. Wet and dry traction is awesome. Quiet ride.

Tire Cons

None

I've only had these tires installed for a little over a month. Living in South Dakota in the spring time you can have every type of weather imaginable. In the past month I've driven these tires in rain, sleet, ice, 8" of snow and dry roads. I have been amazed on how these tires perform. My CTS has rear wheel drive and I went through 8" of snow today with no problem getting around. Dry traction is great and cornering is way more fun than I experienced with almost new Pirelli P6's I took off. I highly recommend these tires. I am very pleased with Discount Tire Direct. Their price was better than I could get anywhere locally. Buy the road hazard warranty. When they say no hassle warranty they mean it. At 500 miles I was forced off the road and both passenger tires were damaged on the sidewalls. Discount Tire Direct sent me two replacement tires with no questions asked with free shipping.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

64 of 115 people found the following review helpful

  8.0

September 11, 2012
2011 HYUNDAI SONATA LIMITED
ATLANTA, GA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 4000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Great wet traction on the highway

Tire Cons

A little softer than OEM and a little noiser.

I will be honest I am not sure how to rate a new tire to a tire with 41000 mile on it. The OEM hankok was a great tire and lastested longer than I thought it would. Its only drawback was driving on the highway in the rain. "NOT GOOD" The Contacts are good. After some initial balanceing issues they are now fairly smooth. Wet traction at highway speads is greatly improved but cornering, noise, milage and ride, are the same or a little worse especially the responsivness. It feels floatyer on the highway but at the same time does not seam to soak up the pot holes as well. A little worried about the rims. I am sure if you need a light snow/all season tire this tire is great. Since I see very little snow i will give it a thumbes up but have had better on other cars. The big test will be to see if I get the same or better milage.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

54 of 99 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

July 05, 2012
2004 MAZDA RX-8 6-SPEED
GASTONIA, NC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 9 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

great tire for almost half the price of others I looked at. great performance tires....
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

52 of 96 people found the following review helpful

  6.2

September 26, 2012
2001 ACURA 3.2CL-S COUPE
NAPERVILLE, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 3 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 40000
Ride Comfort   1.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   1.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

As someone that has always enjoyed a Continental tire, it is difficult for me to write this review, but this needs to be said. I did a lot of research prior to purchasing the Extreme Contact DWS so that I could hopefully avoid the same poor experiences I have had with other tires getting extremely noisy as time went on. I was absolutely in love with this tire when they were fresh on my car, they were incredibly quiet, super comfortable, they handled well, and the traction was perfect for unpredictable Chicago weather. Then they started to get a little noisy and ride rough. And now, at 40,000 miles, they still have a decent amount of treadlife remaining, but they are so unbelievably loud that I cannot stand to keep them on my car until they would need to be replaced based on remaining tread. From inside the car, it literally sounds like you are riding on big nobby off road mud tires! If you have any desire to keep a tire on your car for more than 2 years, stay far far away from this tire.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

61 of 113 people found the following review helpful

  2.8

October 25, 2012
2010 FORD FUSION SPORT
ROMEOVILLE, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 250
Ride Comfort   1.0
Cornering/Steering   3.0
Ride Noise   1.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   5.0
Wet Traction   4.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

N/A

Tire Cons

Extremely noisy brand new Runout unacceptable

I bought these tires because of the great reviews, replacing the OEM Good Year Eagle RSA's on my car. I was immediately disappointed in the amount of noise and vibration that these tires produced. My car is only 2 years old, all 4 rims are true, no suspension issues, recent alignment, and did not have this issue prior to installing these tires. Out of curiosity that there may have been a mistake made when they were balanced, I had the balance rechecked 4 days after they were installed. Although minor corrections were made, the vibration and terrible noise remained. I later put the car on jacks, spun them by hand and noticed how out of round these tires were. I'm thankful that Discount has a no haggle 30 day return policy as these are going back immediately and will get a new set of the OEM tires. The guys in Discount were helpful in getting the replacement setup, so that was a plus.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

37 of 70 people found the following review helpful

  8.4

February 25, 2012
2004 TOYOTA SOLARA 6CY SE/SLE
THOMASVILLE, NC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 2 years
Miles Driven on Tires: 40000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   7.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   6.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   7.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Very comfortable ride. low noise, good handler.

Tire Cons

none

This is the absolute best high performance tire I have ever had experience with. I have tried other brands. Hands down this is the best. The last set of tires I had(generals) I could not wait to get new ones because the tire's noise level had increased to where it was just bearable.thee continental's noise has increased with 40000 miles on them but there is less noise than the general's had when they were new. from the looks of them I think they will last the 60000 miles that that they were guaranteed. I will purchase another set.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Known in Oregon & Parts of California as