Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Continental ExtremeContact DW

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (9)   9.1

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (9 Total Reviews)

95 of 174 people found the following review helpful

  8.0

May 23, 2014
2011 VW GTI VI 2/4-DOOR
WOODLAND HILLS, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 7 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   7.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

VERY grippy, wearing much better than expected

Tire Cons

Soft sidewall

I put the DW on my GTI with the intention of driving the car hard and getting some performance out of the tires. They grip and wear well, and you get used to the soft sidewall.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

121 of 225 people found the following review helpful

  8.3

February 25, 2014
2004 VW GOLF IV GTI R32
THEODORE, AL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 6000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   6.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great traction wet and dry.

Tire Cons

Not a real con beings I bought them because of superior traction but so sticky they sling pebbles everywhere for first mile or so every time I drive.

I am currently on my third set of continental extreme contact dw and I have had one set of dws. They have been amazing as far as traction and tread life. I enjoy pushing my car to its limits and these tires can handle more!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

136 of 253 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

October 08, 2013
2012 SUBARU IMPREZA SEDAN WRX
PARKER, CO
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires: 300
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Extremely quiet

Tire Cons

None yet

I always buy my tires from DT so when I decided to ditch the factory rims and tires on my 2012 WRX that's where I went. I decided to move up from 17 inch to 18's because the factory rims looked smallish. I'd originally chosen the Kumho's (4x KU22) but was they were out of stock. Salesman told me these were a better buy. I'll never know if the Kumo's would have been better but I do know that these tires are WAY quieter than the stock tires and have excellent traction. I also went this direction for the all season rating. Stock tires were terrible in the snow (not all season) so we'll see how these work. I'll re-rate these tires once I've got some snow time on them. - David in Parker, CO
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

49 of 92 people found the following review helpful

  9.2

August 12, 2014
2010 MAZDA 3 MAZDASPEED
Wellesley Island, NY
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great dry and amazing wet traction, was amazed how well these tires performed in a heavy rainstorm

Tire Cons

None so far.

Great tire, way better than stock factory tires. Confidence inspiring tires!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

55 of 105 people found the following review helpful

  9.8

July 30, 2014
2012 MAZDA 3 MAZDASPEED
Orlando, FL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 3 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Grippy, smooth, fairly quiet

Tire Cons

Soft on the sidewall, takes a while to warm up

It's not going to do much for steering precision or feel. It's a balanced tire for daily driving. Easy to live with. Balanced to the point of understeer and does not like multiple fast inputs. Great traction in truly hot and rainy weather. Can make one overconfident very fast. Not as fun as a Dunlop tire. Certainly in terms of real world application, speed index and comfort including its fair price, a truly hard tire to beat.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

138 of 268 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

September 05, 2012
2007 VW RABBIT 2/4 DOOR
PITTSBURGH, PA
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 3 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 3000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

quiet and they stick!

Tire Cons

none

I have a suspension and brake modded mk5 VW Rabbit with 18's. My car is pure fun with these tires. They look great on the rims. Even on wet roads it has control. No road noise so far. Proper tire for German car.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

38 of 76 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

August 15, 2014
2002 SUBARU IMPREZA WRX
Saint Paul, MN
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1900
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good traction dry or wet.

Tire Cons

None

Great tire for my WRX. No problems but only 1900miles so far. Same tire on my son's WRX and he loves them too.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

19 of 41 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

September 11, 2014
2012 VW GTI VI 2/4-DOOR
Woodbury, MN
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great grip, very sticky Low road noise Corners great

Tire Cons

Tread life is not terrible, but could be improved

These tires have been a great tire for my GTI. I couldn't afford the Michelin Pilot SuperSports being they are $225/tires and these DW's are $170/tire they are an excellent substitution. The Michelin PSS's are great, but on a budget these tires are excellent. Great grip, very sticky and it corners perfectly, I've never lost grip, even in the most aggressive corners. My one and only complaint with these tires is their tread life. It isn't the worst, but it could be improved a little bit.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

115 of 258 people found the following review helpful

  8.8

July 11, 2012
2008 VW JETTA V SEL
NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 2834
Ride Comfort   7.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   9.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Execlant corner and take off grip

Tire Cons

Tires will flat spot if not driven on at least twice a week

My car is turbo with extensive suspension work done to it. Before these tires it would burn out all the way up to 4th gear and slide out around 35+MPH turns. Now wheel spin is controllable in 1st and 2nd and capable of 50+ mph turns! Great performance tires, they look good too!
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire