Filtering Options

For best results, filter one option at a time.

Reset Button

(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that filter.)

Tire Reviews

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Review

For All Vehicles (17)   9.0

Sort Reviews Most Helpful Highest Rated Lowest Rated Most Recent

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles (17 Total Reviews)

30 of 42 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

September 12, 2014
2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU LT
Oceanside, CA
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great tire for the price I paid.

Tire Cons

Won't have to buy new tire for a long time.

Discount continues to provide Outstanding Service and outstanding Quality in tires. If they make the tire Discount has it or they get it! Go Discount the best tire store in any city or town. Sempre fi
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

46 of 78 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

May 26, 2014
2009 CHEVROLET MALIBU LTZ
SCOTTSDALE, AZ
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 5000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

We just returned from a cross country highways and city roads with both wet and dry conditions, this tire held the road perfectly. There was minimal road noise and a great ride.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

34 of 58 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

July 07, 2014
2005 PONTIAC G6 BASE
Albuquerque, NM
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 15000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Stops quickly. Look good. Great ride.

Tire Cons

None Provided

No problem with tires. Just with the Albuquerque store. They have kept my wheel lock twice and the third time I made sure I asked for it. This store tells me to rotate in about 8000 miles. The store in Denver on Federal on the other hand got my wheel lock back to me and told me to go in every 4000 miles or so to have them rotated.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

86 of 150 people found the following review helpful

  9.7

October 11, 2013
2008 CHEVROLET IMPALA LTZ
STERLING HEIGHTS, MI
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 7500
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

NOT USUALLY LOOK FORWARD TO WINTER DRIVING BUT THIS YEAR I AM CONFIDENT DRIVING IN SNOW AND ON ICE WILL BE A BETTER EXPERIENCE.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

56 of 98 people found the following review helpful

  8.0

February 23, 2014
2008 CHEVROLET MALIBU LTZ
WATERFORD, MI
Driving Conditions: Snow
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 1000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   8.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   8.0
Wet Traction   8.0
Winter Traction   8.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

so far so good
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

97 of 186 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

March 16, 2013
2006 CADILLAC STS V8 BASE/LUXRY
ROCKY MOUNT, NC
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 14000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Well worth the money

Tire Cons

None Provided

As with the whole Michelin tire line, these tires were rather pricey. BUT, and this is a very large but, you get what you pay for. I thought the Michelin Hydro-Tech was the best tires I had ever driven on. The Defender is 25% better because the noise the Hydro-Tech made on fresh laid pavement is gone !! This is a really great highway/interstate tire.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

49 of 95 people found the following review helpful

  9.5

February 27, 2014
2012 CHRYSLER 200 SEDAN LIMITED
PLAINFIELD, IL
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 25500
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   8.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Safety, quality

Tire Cons

None Provided

I have purchased Michelin tires on our last 4 cars because of the quality and safety features of the tire.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

74 of 145 people found the following review helpful

  9.0

August 26, 2013
2011 CHEVROLET MALIBU LT
BRYAN, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 12000
Ride Comfort   9.0
Cornering/Steering   9.0
Ride Noise   9.0
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

So far so good. Not enough miles on them thoroughly evaluate them
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

74 of 147 people found the following review helpful

  10.0

September 14, 2013
2009 SATURN AURA XR-V6
FLUSHING, MI
Driving Conditions: Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 8000
Ride Comfort   10.0
Cornering/Steering   10.0
Ride Noise   10.0
Tread Life   10.0
Dry Traction   10.0
Wet Traction   10.0
Winter Traction   10.0
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

best tire you can buy

Tire Cons

price

Discount did a good just, but forgot to do tire pressure sensors
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

  6.8

October 12, 2014
2010 CHEVROLET MALIBU LTZ
Amarillo, TX
Driving Conditions: Mostly Dry
Driving Style: Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for: 1 year 10 months
Miles Driven on Tires: 40000
Ride Comfort   8.0
Cornering/Steering   8.0
Ride Noise   6.0
Tread Life   1.0
Dry Traction   9.0
Wet Traction   9.0
Winter Traction   9.0
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

Traction was good for all climates, when the tread was new at least

Tire Cons

Tread Life and noise

These tires come with a 90,000 mile warranty. Unfortunatly they do not come anywhere near that. I have had these for not even 2 years with only a little over 40,000 miles. Rotated every 7,000 and was recently told at my last rotation that I needed them replaced. 2 of the tires were below the wear line. I will be repurchasing the same tire hoping it doesn't happen again, but rest assured this is the only second chance these tires are getting. For such a reputable brand, Michelin really missed the mark on this one.
Was this review helpful to you?

Flag as Inappropriate

Not Satisfied? Bring it back! Our Promise
Not Satisfied? Bring it back!

If ever you're not satisfied with one of our tires, please feel free to bring it back.

At Discount Tire we stand by everything that we do. If you are not satisfied with your purchase at any time, bring it back and we will make it right. That is our promise.

If you ever find a tire for a lower price, please let us know and we will beat it... Simple as that!

Please enjoy our "Thank You" commercial below. It currently is in the Guinness Book of World Records and is recognized as the longest running TV commercial of all time. Since 1975, we proudly stand behind this message.

SHOP TIRES

PROMOTIONS

SHOP WHEELS

APPOINTMENTS

COMPANY

USEFUL LINKS

CONNECT WITH US

©2014 The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

----SR034 Known in Oregon & Parts of California as America's Tire

Twelve